FMP Active Mentors

View active faculty mentors for 2024-2025.

FMP Mentor Directory

Jung-Ha An

Jung-Ha An

Dr. Jung-Ha An was born and raised in South Korea and she is a first-generation college graduate who is passionate about teaching mathematics with applications to real-world situations and mentoring/advising students, especially first-generation and under-served minorities. She earned her both BA and MS in mathematics from Chonbuk National University in South Korea. She completed her Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Florida and finished her industrial post-doctoral training from the University of Minnesota in conjunction with Siemens Corporate Research.

Office: MSR 360 Extension: 3779 E-Mail: jan@csustan.edu

Renato Alvim

Renato Alvim

Renato Alvim is Assistant Professor at the Department of Philosophy and Modern Languages, where he teaches Portuguese and, sometimes, Spanish. Renato lives in Turlock (Originally from Brazil) loves traveling, learning, cooking, hiking, dancing, reading, biking, and playing with his cat.

"I like to listen to what students have to say. I support them, and I appreciate having the chance to know about our students' diversity and present steps to achieve what they plan for their future. I am here to help."

Office: S103B   Extension: 6704   E-Mail: ralvim@csustan.edu

no photo available

Judith Banderman

Office: Bizzini Hall B107F
Extension: 3172
E-Mail: jbandermann@csustan.edu

Ashley Black

Ashley Black

Office: Bizzini Hall B118L
Extension: 3238
E-Mail: ablack5@csustan.edu

Yamini Bellare

Yamini Bellare

Office: B226A
Extension: 3934
E-Mail: ybellare@csustan.edu

no photo available

Jennifer Biedendorf

Office: DBH137
Extension: 3371
E-Mail: jbiedendorf@csustan.edu

 

Doctor Cash Bortner

Cash Bortner

Extension: 3595
E-Mail: cbortner@csustan.edu

no photo available

Sofía Brizuela-Obando

Office: DBH266F
Extension: 3775
E-Mail: sbrizuelaobando@csustan.edu

Sriram Chintakrindi

Sriram Chintakrindi

Office: B125
Extension: 6605
E-Mail: schintakrindi@csustan.edu

no photo available

Nicole Cochran

Office: Innovative Center 100B
Extension: 6641
E-Mail: ncochran1@csustan.edu
 

 

no photo available

Jim Cook

Office: B118H
Extension: 3238
E-Mail: jcook2@csustan.edu

Kelly Cotter

Kelly Cotter

Kelly Cotter, teaches psychology at the Stockton Center.  Originally from the Los Angeles area, went to Boston for graduate school, and now back in California raising two little kids. 

"I am interested in health and social relations across the lifespan. I like to hike, bike, dance, eat, read, travel, spend time outdoors, and enjoy the company of friends and family. I'm a supportive mentor; I try to help students achieve their goals but I'm not pushy. I look forward to learning more about you and helping you to achieve your goals in any way I can."

Office: B240J   Extension: 3865   
E-Mail: kcotter@csustan.edu

no photo available

Sandra Cruz

Office: DBH229
Extension: 3361
E-Mail: scruz2@csustan.edu

no photo available

Sergio Cuellar

Office: Vasche Library L203
Extension: 3982
E-Mail:scuellar4@csustan.edu

 

Jennifer Cullison

Jennifer Cullison

Office: Bizzini Hall B118H
Extension: 3316
E-Mail: jcullison@csustan.edu

Scott C. Davis

Scott Davis

Office: DBH275
Extension: 3883
E-Mail: sdavis@csustan.edu

Jessica De Silva

Jessica De Silva

Jessica De Silva is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics. Originally from Hilmar, California, Jessica is a Central Valley native and Stan State alumna. She pursued her Ph.D. at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and says “It was great to get out of the CV and experience a different American culture (those midwesterners…) but nothing beats being back home near her family and friends!”

You’ll often find Jessica chatting it up with students in the hallways and her office (Science 1, 115). These conversations capture her favorite part of being a professor: getting to know such beautiful people. She aims to help students make the most out of their college experience, academically, professionally, and socially. Most importantly, Jessica hopes that every one of her students feel they are part of her extended family and cared for as such.

Office: Science 1, 115   Extension: 3540   
E-Mail: jdesilva1@csustan.edu

Jose Diaz-Garayua

José R. Díaz-Garayúa

José R. Díaz-Garayúa teaches courses in human geography and geographic information systems (GIS) in the Department of Anthropology, Geography & Ethnic Studies. He is interested in Latin American Studies and his research interests are in the area of socio-economics inequities and race, ethnicity, and place, among others.

"I am first-generation from Puerto Rico (my first language is Spanish). I have live in OH, MD, KY, and CA. I have traveled to Mexico, Costa Rica, Perú, and other Latin American and Caribbean countries. "I like to talk with students about their academic progress & their goals. I always look forward to the commencement ceremony."

Office: B216   Extension: 3479 
E-Mail: jdiazgarayua@csustan.edu  

Sandra Garcia Sanborn

Sandra García Sanborn

Sandra García Sanborn is a lecturer in Spanish and Hispanic Literature in the Department of Philosophy and Modern Languages.

Hi, there! I have been faculty in the Spanish Program for 15 years now and I am very proud of my students. I love learning new languages and traveling and have studied English, French, and Portuguese through high school and college. That's right: English is not my mother tongue. Funny enough, though I have been living in California for 30 years, I still have a strong accent. I also love mentoring students. Communicating with students, listening to their inquiries, finding ways that can lead them to success, and being available asap, is something I have been doing from my very first day teaching simply because it is my passion to support as many students I have can in succeeding and accomplishing their dreams.

The portrait behind me is by my artivist friend Mirta Toledo. It is titled "Autorretrato del Regreso"© In English: "Self-Portrait after my Return". Mirta Toledo is an Indo-Afro-Argentine visual artist who lived in the US in the '90s. She is on Instagram @mirtatoledo.arte  I love her work!  I am passionate about the arts, writing poetry, animals, and dancing tango :)

Office: S240   Extension: 3501   
E-Mail: garciasandborn@csustan.edu

no photo available

Iris Haapanen

Office: DBH328E
Extension: 6817
E-Mail: ihaapanen@csustan.edu

no photo available

Victoria Hernandez

Alex Hiropoulos

Alex Hiropoulos

Alex Hiropoulos, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, researches xenophobia, migration, violence, and policing, and immigration control. 

"I'm a first-generation college student and daughter of immigrants. I grew up in various places, including a small town in the U.S. and Athens, Greece. I've lived, studied, and/or worked in various countries, including Greece, England, Belgium, Scotland in Europe, NYC and California in the U.S., and South Africa. I enjoy mentoring students in navigating the college experience, techniques in managing the associated stress, and listening to their concerns, and answering questions"

Office: B126B   Extension: 6722   
E-Mail: ahiropoulos@csustan.edu

no photo available

Jeffrey Kettering

Office: B213
Extension: 3409
E-Mail: jkettering@csustan.edu

Jingyun Li

Jingyun Li

Office: DBH231
Extension: 3450
E-Mail: jli9@csustan.edu

Yili Lian

Yili Lian

Office: STKA1019A
Extension: 9418
E-Mail: ylian@csustan.edu

Ana Ljubinkovic

Ana Ljubinkovic

Dr. Ana Ljubinkovic is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology at California State University, Stanislaus. Dr. Ljubinkovic holds a PhD in Sociology and an MA in Human Rights from the University of Essex, UK, and a BA in Sociology from the University of Rome, Italy.

Her research interests focus on trauma, collective violence, refugeehood, and the role of traditional art in promoting psychological healing. She has previously taught at MA programs in the Sociology of Human Rights (Essex), Refugee Care (Essex), and Peace Education (Rome). As a consultant to the United Nations and other humanitarian organizations in Africa and the Middle East, she worked in the area of psychosocial and mental health support for refugee populations with a focus on promoting traditional practices of trauma healing. She is currently acting as an external academic examiner for the MA in Refugee Care program at the University of Essex, UK.

Office: B213C
Extension: 3222
E-Mailaljubinkovic@csustan.edu

Clarissa Lonn-Nichols

Clarissa Lonn

Clarissa Lonn works in the Office of the Vice-President for Student Affairs. She is from Modesto, California.

"I love reading, traveling, walking my two dogs, enjoying a good suspense movie, meeting new people, and swimming."

"My mentoring style reflects the needs and goals of each protégé and their ambitions and horizons."

Office: MSR360H   Extension: 6564   
E-Mail: clonn@csustan.edu

Victor Luevano

Victor Luevano

Victor Luevano (loo-EHV-uh-no; kind of rhymes with “you never no”) is a professor of psychology. He is a first-generation college student who grew up in New Mexico. He earned his B.S. degree at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, lived in Austin, TX for a couple of years where he did not go to school, and then went to the Boston area to earn his Ph.D. from Brandeis University. He has been an active mentor in FMP since 2012.

“My favorite part of FMP is getting to know our students (and faculty, for that matter) on a personal level. This is such a great organization. If you ever get a chance to go on an FMP retreat, take it!”

Office: B237  Extension: 3096 
E-Mail: vluevano@csustan.edu 

no photo available

Esther McKoon

Office: B158
Extension: 6513
E-Mail: emckoon@csustan.edu

Virginia Montero-Hernandez

Virginia Montero-Hernández

Virginia Montero-Hernández is an Associate professor in the Doctoral Program in Education and Director of the Center for Excellence in Graduate Education (CEGE).

"I love dogs and I walk every day with my dog Ted, a small white Poodle. I come from Mexico and I Speak Spanish fluently. I am the oldest of my siblings. I am a good cook and I love dancing to all types of music!"

 

Office: DBH350   Extension: 6564   
E-Mail: vmonterohernandez@csustan.edu

Esteban Montenegro

Esteban Montenegro

no photo available

Keith Nainby

Office: DBH135
Extension: 3523
E-Mail: knainby@csustan.edu

no photo available

Eric Nystrom

Office: B118
Extension: 3238
E-Mail: enystrom@csustan.edu

no photo available

Giancarlo Panagia

Office: Bizzini Hall B213
Extension: 3409
E-Mail: gpanagia@csustan.edu

Jason Pourtaverdi

Jason Pourtaverdi

Jason Pourtaverdi teaches in the Department of Criminal Justice at both Turlock Campus and Stockton Center. He loves "anything outdoors!"

"I love being out in nature where it's quiet, peaceful, and beautiful. I follow all 4 major sports and soccer when there is a World Cup. I love playing dominos, and softball from time to time. I am here to be the person you can speak to no matter what is going on in your life. I hope to gain your trust and build a relationship we can maintain well beyond graduation!"

Office: B118K   Extension: 3406   
E-Mail: jpourtaverdi@csustan.edu

Brent Powell

Brent Powell

Brent Powell is a Professor of Public Health in the Department of Kinesiology and Public Health Promotion. Currently living in Modesto (originally from Alabama).

I'm a first-generation student. I love to travel, explore nature and cities, college football, and amusement parks (especially Disney). "I love to talk and listen. I’m a great sounding board."

Office: FX111   Extension: 3348   
E-Mail: bpowell1@csustan.edu

Sebastian Sclofsky

Sebastián Sclofsky

Sebastián Sclofsky teaches criminal justice at Turlock and Stockton campuses. He is interested in state and police violence, socio-economic inequalities, critical race theory, abolitionism, and Latin America, among others.  

“I was born and raised in Uruguay. I lived in Brazil and Israel before coming to the US. I am crazy about sports, in particular futbol (90 minutes of the best sport in the world) and rugby. I love traveling, and I am crazy about the beach. I love reading, spending time with family and friends, and drinking mate, of course. I like to listen to students about whatever they want to share with me and find ways to help.”

Office: Turlock B107C Stockton A1008   Extension: 6618   
E-Mail: jsclofsky@csustan.edu

no photo available

Robert Sledge

Extension:3952
E-Mail: rsledge@csustan.edu
 

 

no photo available

Lisa Timmons

Office: B226C
Extension: 6872
E-Mail: ltimmons@csustan.edu

no photo available

Danielle Turley

Office: B226B
E-Maildturley@csustan.edu

 

 

no photo available

Isabel Vargas

I’m a librarian and oversee the Stockton Campus Library and University Library website. I was raised in Modesto and I speak Spanish - my parents are from Michoacan, Mexico and we love to visit annually. I love helping students, whether in research, sources, or writing, or with any questions you may have!
Office: L118
Extension: 3227
E-Mail: ivargas2@csustan.edu

Jenni Whitmer

Jenni Whitmer

Jenni Whitmer is an Assistant Professor of Sociology, where she primarily teaches classes on gender, sex, embodiment, and social inequalities. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. In her spare time, she enjoys travel, film, reading, buying too many clothes, and being a cat lady.

"I joined FMP because I was a first-generation student, and I wanted a way to give back and help students. I really appreciate the opportunity to get to know students and help them to achieve their goals."

 Office: B211   Extension: 3708   
E-Mail: jwhitmer@csustan.edu

photo of Dr. Richard Wallace

Richard Wallace

Office: B237B
Extension: 3228
E-Mail: rwallace@csustan.edu

 

Jacob Wiegel

Jacob Weigel

Office: A19
Extension: 3186
E-Mail: jweigel@csustan.edu

 

Taylor WhiteHead

Taylor Whittington

Taylor Whittington serves as the Health Educator for the Health Education and Promotion (HEP) Office. She advises the Peer Health Education Program, facilitates wellness workshops, and collaborates on various health and wellness initiatives. She received her Bachelor’s Degree in Communication Studies (Christopher Newport University), Master’s Degree in Education (Northern State University), and Doctorate in Educational Leadership (Stanislaus State). She is also a Certified Prevention Specialist.

Ana York

Ana York

Office: Demergasso-Bava Hall DBH 334
Extension:3357
E-Mail: ayork1@csustan.edu

no photo available

Margarita Zamora Saunders

Karen Zandarski

Karen Zandarski

Karen Zandarski teaches in the Department of English.

"Outside of work I like camping, hiking, kayaking, knitting, and of course reading and writing (I’m an English teacher after all). I am especially proud to have graduated from a junior college as a nontraditional, first-generation student. I understand and empathize with the struggles my students are experiencing. I mentor because I want to make a difference in people’s lives. I have been so lucky to have people in my life who helped and supported me through school and into my career; I want to give some of that back."

Office: DBH229   Extension: 3284   
E-Mail: kzandarski@csustan.edu

FMP Active Mentor List, 2024-2025

Mentor Department Office Email Ext.
Ana Ljubinkovic Sociology B213 aljubinkovic@csustan.edu 3041
Ashley Black History B118L ablack5@csustan.edu 3238
Brent Powell Kinesiology and Public Health FX132 bpowell1@csustan.edu 3348
Cash Bortner Mathematics Remote cbortner@csustan.edu 3595
Clarissa Lonn Dean of Students Office, Student Affairs MSR180 clonn@csustan.edu 3750
Danielle Turley Psychology & Child Development B226B dturley@csustan.edu 3084
Della Winters Sociology B207C dwinters@csustan.edu 3008
Eric Nystrom College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences B118 enystrom@csustan.edu 3238
Esteban Montenegro Psychology and Child Development Stockton A1021 emontenegro1@csustan.edu 9457
Esther McKoon Sociology / Criminology and Deviance B158 emckoon@csustan.edu 6513
Goshu Tefera Ethnic Studies B118K gtefera@csustan.edu 3256
 Giancarlo Panagia Criminal Justice B213 gpanagia@csustan.edu 3409
Houa Vang Sociology, Gerontology and Gender Studies B213D hvang12@csustan.edu 3512
Iris Haapanen Teacher Education  DBH328E  ihaapanen@csustan.edu 6817
Isabel Vargas Library - Stockton, Web services Stockton Campus Library ivargas2@csustan.edu 3227
Jake Weigel Art,  Director of Warrior Fab Lab A19 jweigel@csustan.edu 3186
Jason Pourtaverdi Criminal Justice SS 145 jpourtaverdi@csustan.edu 3034
Jeff Kettering Criminal Justice B213 jkettering@csustan.edu 3409
Jennifer Biendendorf Communication Studies DBH137 jbiedendorf@csustan.edu 3371
Jennifer Cullison History B118H jcullison@csustan.edu 3316
Jennifer Whitmer Sociology B211A jwhitmer@csustan.edu 3708
Jim Cook History B118H jcook2@csustan.edu 3238
Jingyun Li Management, Operations, and Marketing DBH231 jli9@csustan.edu 3450
Jose R Diaz Garayua Geography and Environmental Resources B216  jdiazgarayua@csustan.edu 3479
Judith Bandermann Criminal Justice B107F jbandermann@csustan.edu 3172
JungHa An Mathematics S109A jan@csustan.edu 6523
Karen Zandarski English DBH229 kzandarski@csustan.edu 3284
Keith Nainby Communication Studies DBH135 knainby@csustan.edu 3523
Kelly Cotter Psychology Stockton - A101
Turlock - B240J
kcotter@csustan.edu Stockton: (209) 513-9432
Turlock: (209) 667-3865
Lisa Timmons Child Development and Psychology B226C ltimmons@csustan.edu 3872
Margarita Zamora Saunders University Library L117 mzamorasaunders@csustan.edu 6556
Maria De Jesus Mora Sociology B213G mmora4@csustan.edu 3408
Nichole Cochran Director, McNair Scholars Program Innovative Center 100B ncochran1@csustan.edu 6641
Renato Alvim Modern Languages S103B ralvim@csustan.edu 6704
Richard Wallace Anthropology B237B rwallace@csustan.edu 3228
Robert Sledge English DBH230 rsledge@csustan.edu 3952
Sandra Cruz English DBH229 scruz2@csustan.edu 3361
Sandra Garcia Sanborn Modern Languages S240 garciasanborn@csustan.edu 3501
Scott Davis English DBH275 sdavis@csustan.edu 3883
Sebastián Sclofsky Criminal Justice B118K jsclofsky@csustan.edu 9464
Sriram Chintakrindi Criminal Justice B125 schintakrindi@csustan.edu 6605
Sergio Cuellar Warrior Cross Cultural Center L207 scuellar4@csustan.edu 3998
Sofia Brizuela Obando Agriculture DBH266F sbrizuelaobando@csustan.edu 3775
Taylor Whittington Health Education & Promotion Student Health Center twhitehead1@csustan.edu 6551
Victor Luevano Psychology B237 vluevano@csustan.edu 3096
Victoria Hernandez Library Library vhernandez51@csustan.edu Library
Yamini Bellare Psychology and Child Development B226A ybellare@csustan.edu 3934
Yili Lian Accounting and Finance / Finance Stockton, A1019A ylian@csustan.edu 9418

Updated: June 04, 2024