Faculty

The Sociology Department would like to honor Emeritus Professor of Sociology Dr. Clyde V. Collard, who passed away February 11, 2022, at the age of 91. Dr. Collard was a native Californian and graduate of Livingston High School.  He received two master’s degrees from San Jose State University and his Doctorate in Sociology from Louisiana State University.  He first joined the Stanislaus State Sociology Department in 1978 as a Lecturer.  He became a professor in 1984 and served as the Department Chair from 1990-1994.  His scholarly interests were diverse publishing books and journal articles in areas from Rural Sociology to Family Sociology. Dr. Collard met his late wife, Laura Collard, at Stanislaus State where she served as a lecturer and Director of Student Advising. He retired in 1998 and continued his intellectual passions by authoring three fiction books and co-authoring an innovative community novel.  He was also passionate about building his extensive and diverse film collection. He shared his love of life with his four children, nine grand children and twelve great grand children.  Dr. Tamara Sniezek, a Stanislaus State Professor and former Department Chair, remembers Dr. Collard with fondness, “I was an undergraduate student in Dr. Collard’s Classical Theory course. He inspired me to pursue a graduate education and gave me the foundational tools in sociology that were critical to my own success.” Dr. Collard was a mentor and inspiration to many students and faculty.  He will be missed, but the Department he helped build, remains a vibrant tribute to Dr. Collard.

 

 

 

Name/Title Contact Info Location
Bullock, Campbell cbullock1@csustan.edu  
Burdsall, Tina tburdsall@csustan.edu  
Cabral, Carol ccabral@csustan.edu  
Davidson, Zach zdavidson@csustan.edu B-207C
Dutta Hazarika, Sneha sdutta@csustan.edu B-118K
Fleenor, Adam afleenor@csustan.edu  
Jean, Yvette yjean@csustan.edu  
Jordan, Meggan
Associate Professor
664-6831
mjordan1@csustan.edu
B-211B
Kincaid, John
Associate Professor
667-3224
jdkincaid@csustan.edu
B-207A
Laus, Vincent
Assistant Professor
667-3464
vlaus@csustan.edu
B-213F
McKoon, Esther 664-6513
emckoon@csustan.edu
B-158
Mora, Maria 667-3408
mmora4@csustan.edu
B-213
Morgan, Paul 667-3404
pmorgan1@csustan.edu
DBH 360
Nakano, Dana
Associate Professor
667-3512 dnakano@csustan.edu B-213G
Olave, Barbara bolave@csustan.edu B-207C
Orleans, Myron morleans@csustan.edu  
Petersen, Kimberly kpetersen@csustan.edu  
Schafer, Tyler
Assistant Professor
667-3578
tschafer@csustan.edu
B-207B
Schoenthaler, Stephen
Professor, FERP
667-3222
sschoenthaler@csustan.edu
B-213C
Sniezek, Tamara
Professor
667-3478
tsniezek@csustan.edu
B-213D
Strahm, Ann
Professor, Dept. Chair
667-3582
astrahm@csustan.edu
B-213A
Strangfeld, Jennifer
Associate Professor
664-6981
jstrangfeld@csustan.edu
B-213B
Whitmer, Jennifer
Assistant Professor
667-3708
jwhitmer@csustan.edu
C-211A