Advising through ASC

Freshman, sophomores, and other students who have not completed the enrollment requirements for the major will be advised through the Academic Success Center.

Orientation to the Department

 


STAN Planner

STAN Planner is an interactive tool available in myStanState to help students be more proactive with their course planning. The user-friendly interface gives you a visual presentation of your path to timely degree completion.

Frequently Asked Questions

The semester you will complete 60 units and the Enrollment Requirements.

  • You must have the Enrollment Requirements completed before you can be declared a Kinesiology & Exercise Science as a major. If the Enrollment Requirements are not complete, your major will then be Undeclared with a Kinesiology or Exercise Science Interest.
  • Public Health Promotion does not require the completion of the enrollment requirements prior to changing your major. However, you must have them completed by your senior year or you will not be able to register for courses. 
  • The Enrollment Requirements vary slightly based on the degree but are located on the top of each advising sheet. The Enrollment Requirements may include Biology, Physiology, Anatomy, & Statistics. 

Schedule an advising appointment

BIOL1010/1020 is generally a lower division GE requirement. Only students who were Pre-Nursing before switching to major in Public Health Promotion may have MBIO2010  count as fulfilling the Biology Enrollment Requirement for the major

No, General Chemistry (CHEM1100/1102) is part of the degree requirements for both Exercise Science concentrations (Rehabilitation Science and Movement Science). Many of the graduate programs students want to attend after obtaining the B.S. in Exercise Science require at least General Chemistry. 

Many advising forms are provided on the website found below. 

Your advisor will have a sign-up sheet posted outside their office. Some faculty also have online appointment schedules. If the advisor uses an online scheduler, you can select their name below to make an appointment or find the information posted on their door. 

Degree Programs and Concentrations

 

Advisors 

If you have previously seen an advisor, stay with them. If you are new, the advising list is divided among advisors based on the first letter of your last name.

First Letter of Last Name Advisor Office Email Schedule an Appointment
A - L Dr. Erin Hall F 136 ehall@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment
M - Z Dr. Heather Deaner F 138 hdeaner@csustan.edu  

First Letter of Last Name Advisor Office Email Schedule an Appointment
A - H Dr. Sue Eastham F 141 seastham@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment
I - R Dr. Arya Alami F 135 aalami@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment
S - Z Dr. Jeff Bernard F 137 jbernard1@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment

First Letter of Last Name Advisor Office Email Schedule an Appointment
A - J Dr. Brent Powell FX 111 bpowell1@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment
K - R Dr. Ping Luo FX 105 pluo@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment
S -Z Dr. Eric Conrad FX 107 econrad@csustan.edu Schedule an Appointment

Updated: October 26, 2023