Master of Social Work Program

Announcement

In keeping with the CDC guidelines on social distancing, Master of Social Work Program will be operating remotely. All questions and concerns should be sent to Lucy @ lmason2@csustan.edu 


Master of Social Work Program

Dear MSW Students,

During this very challenging time, the Social Work Department faculty and the University have your safety and health as our top priority. To that end, the following actions are being taken to mitigate risk to students, faculty and staff.

Beginning Wednesday, March 18, 2020, all MSW Department business will be conducted remotely. There will be no staff located in the MSW Office on the Turlock campus.

If you need assistance with the following issues, please use email to make contact with the appropriate staff or faculty member:

  • Admissions: Lucy Mason
  • Department Business: Lucy Mason
  • Advising: Current students should contact their advisor. 
  • Title IV-E Program: For placements, please contact your liaison. For checks and other business, please contact Elizabeth Renteria (IV-E Admin. Asst.), Jenell Thompson (IV-E Coordinator), Yvonne Berenguer, or (IV-E Faculty); Viridiana Funes (IV-E Student Rep.)
  • Field: If you are currently a field student, please contact your field liaison. For field questions not related to current placements: Nancy Zamora
  • Hybrid: Katrina Halstead or Shradha Tibrewal
  • Hybrid Field: Nancy Zamora
  • Course information: Your instructor

Instructors email addresses

Banks Sevaughn sbanks2@csustan.edu  
Berenguer Yvonne yberenguer@csustan.edu  
Bith-Melander Pollie pbithmelander@csustan.edu  
Brodie Kilolo kbrodie1@csustan.edu  
Galvin Kathleen kgalvin@csustan.edu  
Garcia John jgarcia@csustan.edu  
Johnson Jennifer jjohnson@csustan.edu  
Leyva Valerie vleyva@csustan.edu  
Rousseau Jane jrousseau@csustan.edu  
Thompson Jenell jthompson22@csustan.edu  
Tibrewal Shradha stibrewal@csustan.edu  
Zamora Nancy nzamora1@csustan.edu  
Wright Paul pwright@csustan.edu  
Costa Dawn dcosta3@csustan.edu  
Curran Deally dcurran@csustan.edu  
Parras

Crystal

cparras@csustan.edu  
Gibbs Courtney cgibbs1@csustan.edu  
Gustafson Constance cgustafson1@csustan.edu  
Grant Vintrica vgrant@csustan.edu  
Perez Salvador sperez54@csustan.edu  
Villasenor Adyolene avillasenor@csustan.edu  
Yonker Stacy syonker@csustan.edu  


Every effort is being made to support you through this difficult and unprecedented time. Thank you for your understanding and flexibility. We look forward to working with you as we meet this challenge.


Program Information and Admission Application

ONLINE 2021 FALL APPLICATION Period opens October 1.

Applications to be submitted via calstate.edu/apply. NEXT ADMISSION DEADLINE - February 1, 2021

Questions regarding the application process may be emailed to socialwork@csustan.edu

Please note applicants may only apply to either the Turlock stateside program or the hybrid program in Stockton. Applicants cannot apply to both programs.


Mission Statement

The Master of Social Work Program at California State University, Stanislaus prepares social workers to advance social justice. This education is committed to social change based on an analysis of social, political and economic structures and their impact. This teaching and learning environment enables faculty, students and graduates to collaborate with others to transform the conditions which contribute to privilege and oppression. Graduates are prepared to use an advanced integrative practice approach to work with individuals, families, and communities to promote personal and collective liberation.

Program Goals

  1. Prepare professional social workers to engage with diverse populations in a process of critical reflection and action to address oppression and promote social justice.
  2. Prepare professional social workers to engage in the struggle to understand and transform their biases.
  3. Prepare social workers to use an integrative practice framework for multi-system interventions guided by ethics and informed by research.
  4. Prepare professional social workers to assume leadership roles in meeting the social service needs of the region.
  5. Create a learning environment based on principles of social justice where faculty and students participate in the development of knowledge that contributes to improving the social conditions of the region.
  6. Create partnerships with community constituents based on principles of social justice that allow faculty and students to participate, both as leaders and learners, in the development of social work knowledge and service delivery systems.

The Master of Social Work Program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

Admission to the MSW program is based on meeting the general University requirements, plus an evaluation of the applicant's potential for advanced practice in the profession of social work. The program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. Students are admitted to a two-year or three-year program in the Fall semester only.

The MSW Program Admissions Committee evaluates each applicant on the basis of all submitted materials and information.  Because admission into the MSW Program is competitive and enrollment space is limited, qualified applicants may not be offered a letter of admission but can opt to be placed on a waiting list.