Master of Social Work Program

Request for Information

MSW

Program Info

  • Admissions: Lucy Mason
  • Department Business: Lucy Mason
  • Advising: Current students should contact their advisor.
  • Title IV-E Program: For checks and other IV-E office business, please contact Jenell Thompson (IV-E Coordinator), Yvonne Berenguer, or (IV-E Faculty); Kylie Speckens (IV-E Admin. Asst.), TBA (Title IV-E Student Rep.)
  • Field: If you are currently a field student, please contact your field liaison. For field questions not related to current placements Nancy Zamora
  • Title IV-E Field: For current students with questions related to Title IV-E, Child Welfare please contact Jenell Thompson. For placements, please contact your IV-E liaison.
  • Hybrid: Katrina Halstead or Shradha Tibrewal
  • Hybrid Field: Nancy Zamora
  • Course information: Contact the Instructor

Instructors email addresses

Full-time Faculty

Banks Sevaughn sbanks2@csustan.edu
Berenguer Yvonne yberenguer@csustan.edu
Bith-Melander Pollie pbithmelander@csustan.edu
Brodie Kilolo kbrodie1@csustan.edu
Galvin Kathleen kgalvin@csustan.edu
Garcia John jgarcia@csustan.edu
Costa Dawn dcosta3@csustan.edu
Johnson Jennifer jljohnson@csustan.edu
Leyva Valerie vleyva@csustan.edu
May Ying Ly mly4@csustan.edu
Rousseau Jane jrousseau@csustan.edu
Thompson Jenell jthompson22@csustan.edu
Tibrewal Shradha stibrewal@csustan.edu
Zamora Nancy nzamora1@csustan.edu
Wright Paul pwright@csustan.edu

Part-time Faculty

Grant Vintrica vgrant@csustan.edu
Perez Salvador sperez54@csustan.edu

Every effort is being made to support you through this difficult and unprecedented time. Thank you for your understanding and flexibility. We look forward to working with you as we meet this challenge.


Program Information and Admission Application

ONLINE 2022 FALL APPLICATION Period opens October 1.

Applications to be submitted via calstate.edu/apply. NEXT ADMISSION DEADLINE - February 1, 2022

Questions regarding the application process may be emailed to socialwork@csustan.edu.

Please note applicants may only apply to either the Turlock stateside program or the hybrid program in Stockton. Applicants cannot apply to both programs.


Mission Statement

The Master of Social Work Program at California State University, Stanislaus prepares social workers to advance social justice. This education is committed to social change based on an analysis of social, political and economic structures and their impact. This teaching and learning environment enables faculty, students and graduates to collaborate with others to transform the conditions which contribute to privilege and oppression. Graduates are prepared to use an advanced integrative practice approach to work with individuals, families, and communities to promote personal and collective liberation.

Program Goals

  1. Prepare professional social workers to engage with diverse populations in a process of critical reflection and action to address oppression and promote social justice.
  2. Prepare professional social workers to engage in the struggle to understand and transform their biases.
  3. Prepare social workers to use an integrative practice framework for multi-system interventions guided by ethics and informed by research.
  4. Prepare professional social workers to assume leadership roles in meeting the social service needs of the region.
  5. Create a learning environment based on principles of social justice where faculty and students participate in the development of knowledge that contributes to improving the social conditions of the region.
  6. Create partnerships with community constituents based on principles of social justice that allow faculty and students to participate, both as leaders and learners, in the development of social work knowledge and service delivery systems.

The Master of Social Work Program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

Admission to the MSW program is based on meeting the general University requirements, plus an evaluation of the applicant's potential for advanced practice in the profession of social work. The program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. Students are admitted to a two-year or three-year program in the Fall semester only.

The MSW Program Admissions Committee evaluates each applicant on the basis of all submitted materials and information. Because admission into the MSW Program is competitive and enrollment space is limited, qualified applicants may not be offered a letter of admission but can opt to be placed on a waiting list.