Our Champions

College of Business Administration, Champions of the American Dream, Est. 1997

The Champions of the American Dream award has recognized individuals in the Central Valley who not only have distinguished themselves as entrepreneurs but also have made exceptional contributions to the community. They have served as role models for future generations of business leaders, as was intended by Norm Porges when he partnered with the Stanislaus State College of Business Administration to establish the distinctive awards program in 1997.

In addition to honoring the entrepreneurial and community spirit of innovative leaders, the Champions of the American Dream event provides an opportunity for honorees to interact with Stan State students. By sharing their insight and expertise, along with stories of tenacity and hard work, these business leaders nurture the entrepreneurial spirit of our students. They also exemplify Norm’s belief that business people should be involved in giving back to the community. Champions of the American Dream Honorees are honored at an annual recognition event and invited to give remarks on the California State University, Stanislaus campus in Turlock, CA.

Past Honorees

1998 Robert Piccinini
1999 Dan Costa
2000 Chester Smith
2000 Ernie Gemperle
2001 Carol Whiteside
2001 Robert Cardoza
2002 David Halvorson
2002 Bill Ahlem
2003 James Beard

2003 Carl Boyett
2004 Jane Evans Vilas & John Evans
2004 Ralph Juarez
2005 Patty Amador
2006 Mike Zagaris
2007 Tony Mistlin
2018 Norm Porges
2019 José Rodriguez
2019 Jeffrey Grover