What is the Dream Loan?
The California Dream Loan is a subsidized loan program for undergraduate students with a valid California Dream Act application and a valid AB540 affidavit on file with Stanislaus State. The California Dream Loan is borrowed money you must repay with interest. The interest rate for 2015-16 is 4.29%. The interest rate for the California Dream Loan corresponds with the interest rate on Federal Direct Subsidized loans and is subject to change annually. The California Dream Loan does not accrue interest while you are enrolled at least half-time, during periods of approved deferment, and during the 6-month grace period before you enter repayment. You will be responsible for the interest charged at all other times.
Who is eligible for the Dream Loan?
To be eligible for the California Dream loan you must:
- Have a valid California Dream Act Application completed by March 2nd
- Be an undergraduate student
- Must be enrolled in at least half-time
- Demonstrate Financial Need
- Meet the Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Progress standards
Receipt of funds in one year does not guarantee availability or receipt of funds in subsequent years.
How is the Dream Loan Accepted?
To accept your California Dream Loan, you must log in to your MyCsustan and accept the Dream Loan. You have 21 days to accept your loan, otherwise it will be cancelled. You may decline the loan or accept less than what is offered to you, but funds are limited and you may not be able to increase your loan at a later time. Students who accept the California Dream loan must complete a promissory note and entrance counseling. If you fail to complete all the required steps to receive your loan funds by the deadline, Stanislaus State may cancel the loan offer. Funds are limited and you may not be awarded the funds again at a later date.
To complete the Master Promissory Note and Entrance Counseling please visit: https://www.ecsi.net/prom1t/
When does repayment begin?
You begin repaying your loan at the end of a 6-month grace period. The grace period begins once you graduate, leave school, or enroll less than half-time. California Dream Loans are set-up to be repaid in monthly installments over a 10-year period and have a minimum payment of $50 a month. You can pay off your loan earlier without penalty.