Banned States (Assembly Bill 1887)

OverviewHow to | Policies | Resources | Forms | Concur Travel & Expense | Banned States (AB 1887) | Contacts

Assembly Bill 1887 - Effective January 1, 2017 (UPDATED June 5, 2018)

On June 1, 2018, California Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced that, effective June 22, 2018, California will prohibit state-funded and state-sponsored travel to Oklahoma as a result of discriminatory legislation Oklahoma signed into law on May 11, 2018. For additional information regarding this change, please visit the State of California Department of Justice.

AB 1887 is a California law that restricts state agencies from requiring employees to travel to any state that has enacted a law that discriminates on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression. The law also prohibits approval of state-funded or state-sponsored travel to states on the list. The restrictions apply to all CSU employees, officers, or members, as well as non-employee travelers, including students.

Travelers are required to check the California State Attorney General website for a list of affected states prior to initiating the travel approval process. Consult CSU travel policy 3601.1 for detailed information and FAQs.

The following states are currently subject to California's ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

  1. Alabama
  2. Kansas
  3. Kentucky
  4. Mississippi
  5. Oklahoma
  6. North Carolina
  7. South Dakota
  8. Tennessee
  9. Texas
  10. South Carolina
  11. Iowa
  12. Idaho

In rare instances, an exception to AB 1887 may be granted. Each exception will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. Please utilize the Request for Approval of Travel to Prohibited States Under AB 1887 Form to request an exception prior to booking travel. The form should be filled out with a detailed description and justification for travel; please attach any relevant supporting documentation along with the approved form in your travel request. Exceptions to the new travel prohibition may be granted for the following purposes:

  1. Enforcement of California law, including auditing and revenue collection.
  2. Litigation.
  3. To meet contractual obligations incurred before January 1, 2017.
  4. To comply with requests by the federal government to appear before committees.
  5. To participate in meetings or training required by a grant or required to maintain grant funding.
  6. To complete job-required training necessary to maintain licensure or similar standards required for holding a position, in the event that comparable training cannot be obtained in California or a different state not affected.
  7. For the protection of public health, welfare, or safety, as determined by the CSU or other state


Additional Resources

AB 1887 CSUS Exceptions & FAQs
AB 1887 Details
Request for Approval of Travel to Prohibited States Under AB 1887
Travel Ban Memo to CSU Updated 9-9-19
California Will Restrict State-Funded Travel to Idaho
Presidents Travel Ban Update 06-26-20