Ritin Bhaduri

Ritin Bhaduri

rbhaduri@csustan.edu
209-667-3485
N263

Ph.D., George Washington University.
Professor in Biological Sciences.
Interests: Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology, Parasitology, Environmental Biology.

Sarah Bissonnette

Sarah Bissonnette

sbissonnette@csustan.edu
209-664-3499
N264

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
Associate Professor in Biological Sciences.
Interests: Investigating the development of conceptual expertise in Biology. Probing biology students' molecular understanding of everyday biological phenomena.

Matthew Cover

Matthew Cover

mcover@csustan.edu
N273

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Professor of Ecology.
Interests: Stream ecology, watershed sciences, biological monitoring of water quality with invertebrates, inclusive teaching, culture change in STEM education.

Michael Fleming

Michael Fleming

mfleming1@csustan.edu
209-664-6923
N269

Ph.D., University of Washington. Associate Professor of Biological Sciences.
Interests: Ecology (communities and populations, plant/animal interactions), science education (metacognition, identifying/correcting misconceptions, learning how to learn).

Andrew G. Gardner

Andrew G. Gardner

agardner1@csustan.edu
209-667-3596
N261

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison. Associate Professor of Botany.
Interests: Plant systematics, morphological and floral evolution, biogeography.

Marina M. Gerson

Marina M. Gerson

Department Chair
mgerson@csustan.edu
209-664-6547
N272

Ph.D., University of Texas at Arlington. Professor of Zoology.
Interests: Ecology, herpetology, behavioral ecology, evolution, desert biology, tropical biology.

Mark A. Grobner

Mark A. Grobner

mgrobner@csustan.edu
209-667-3628
N268

Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Biological Sciences.
Interests: Developmental biology, emphasis on mammalian pre-implantation embryo development.

Michael Guernsey

Michael Guernsey

mguernsey1@csustan.edu
209-667-3472
N254

Ph.D., Stanford University. Assistant Professor of Genetics.
Interests: The connection of underlying genes to developmental processes in a variety of systems, including placenta development in disparate taxa and carotenoid-based yellow pigmentation in bats. 

Terry D. Jones

Terry D. Jones

tdjones@csustan.edu
209-667-3488
N267

Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Zoology.
Interests: Vertebrate functional morphology and paleobiology.

Choong-Min Kang

Choong-Min Kang

ckang1@csustan.edu
209-667-3484
N274

Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Professor of Microbiology.
Interests: Development of novel brewing Saccharomyces cerevisiae by CRISPR/Cas9 and Cell Fusion technology.

Patrick A. Kelly

Patrick A. Kelly

pkelly@csustan.edu
209-667-3446
N277

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Professor of Zoology.
Interests: Conservation and recovery of endangered plants, animals, and ecosystems in California.

Jeanette Pirlo

Jeanette Pirlo

jpirlo@csustan.edu
209-667-3481
N255

University of Florida. Assistant Professor of Evolutionary Biology.
Interests: Evolution and paleoecology of herbivores, with a particular interest in Miocene Gomphotheres and Mastodons.

Brian Sardella

Brian Sardella

bsardella@csustan.edu
209-667-3483
N270

Ph.D., University of British Columbia. Associate Professor of Biological Sciences.
Interests: Ecological and Comparative Physiology. I am particularly interested in how vertebrates adapt their physiological mechanisms to extreme environments.

Jeffrey A. Scales

Jeffrey A. Scales

jscales1@csustan.edu
209-667-3480
N262

Ph.D., University of Hawaii, Manoa. Associate Professor of Biological Sciences.
Interests: Functional morphology at both the organismal level and higher levels. My research focuses on the locomotor and feeding systems in reptiles and amphibians.

Ryan Stanfield

Ryan Stanfield

rstanfield@csustan.edu
209-664-6694
N256

Ph.D., University of Alberta. Assistant Professor of Biology.
Interests: The role of phloem anatomical, physiological, and molecular traits in drought tolerance.
My Lo Thao

My Lo Thao

mthao@csustan.edu
209-667-3649
N276

Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Professor of Microbiology.
Interests: Genetics and evolution of endosymbiotic bacteria-insect associations, environmental microbiology (bioremediation), and molecular biology.

Tricia Van Laar

Tricia Van Laar

tvanlaar@csustan.edu
209-667-3695
N275

Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio. Assistant Professor of Microbial Genetics.
Interests: Microbial genomics, microbial pathogenesis and metabolism, biofilms, and avian microbiota.

Janey Youngblom

Janey Youngblom

jyoungblom1@csustan.edu
209-667-3487
N265

Ph.D., University of Minnesota. Professor of Genetics.
Interests: Human genetics and the application of molecular and cytogenetic techniques to the study of human disorders.

Lecturers

no photo avatar

Sally Channing-Santiago

Stephanie Disch

Stephanie Disch

sdisch@csustan.edu
209-667-3476
N377

MFA, Academy of Art University, San Francisco.
Interests: Drawing and painting natural forms, polarized-light microscopy and glass arts/glass blowing.

no photo avatar

Kamal Dulai

kdulai@csustan.edu
209-667-6922
N251

Sara E. Emerson

Sara E. Emerson

semerson1@csustan.edu
209-664-6548
N253

Ph.D., University of Illinois, Chicago.
Interests: Foraging ecology, human/wildlife interactions, landscapes of fear, habitat, and diet selection by mammals.

no photo avatar

Erica Fleming

efleming2@csustan.edu
209-667-6922
N251

Nora Hallquist-Hulse

Nora Hallquist-Hulse

nhallquisthulse@csustan.edu
209-667-3838
N252

Ph.D., University of California, Davis.
Interests: improving human health through nutrition that supports immune responses and diminishes inflammation. I hope to contribute to limiting the negative effects of food intake on obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease and cancer.

Laurissa Hamilton

Laurissa Hamilton

lhamilton@csustan.edu
209-667-3489
N257

John Lytle

John Lytle

jlytle1@csustan.edu
209-667-3838
N252

Ph.D., University of California, Riverside.
Interests: Parasitoid ecology and biology, especially non-Fisherian sex ratios; invertebrate ecology, evolution, and all things entomology, with a special focus on Integrated Pest Management and biological control.

Jamila Newton

Jamila Newton

jnewton4@csustan.edu
209-664-6548
N253

Ph.D., Harvard University.
Interests: Cell biology, neuroscience, human physiology, and endocrinology. Neuronal regulation of nutrient metabolism. Microscopy. Learning about extremophilic metabolism, advancements in bionanotechnology, and spectral imaging.

Sandra Vierra

Sandra Vierra

slehmannvierra@csustan.edu
209-667-6926
N378

MPH, Yale University.
Interests: Health sciences and public health, with a special interest in maternal child health. STEM Education, Ecology, and Economics.

Staff

Robert Bell

Robert Bell

rbell4@csustan.edu
209-667-3476
N259
Administrative Support Assistant II

Ilene Ruesga

Ilene Ruesga

iruesga@csustan.edu
209-667-6549
N258

Administrative Support Coordinator II. 

no photo avatar

Ashley Scoles

ascoles@csustan.edu
209-667-3486
N235

Instructional Support Technician.

no photo avatar

Carrie Sonke

csonke@csustan.edu
209-667-3486
N235

B.S, University of California, Davis. Instructional Support Technician. Interests: Microbiology, population genetics, critters of every kind, and ballet/costume design/construction.

  • David Gotelli, Ph.D., University of Washington. Professor of Botany Emeritus.
  • Steve Grillos, Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Botany Emeritus. Interests: Phloem tissue development; systematics of ferns and fern allies. He is also co-authoring a book on Weeds of California.
  • Glenn Hackwell, Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Biology and the behavior of bees, insect systematics and pollination dynamics.
  • James Hanson, Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Metabolism in cultured cardiac cells, microphotography and photomicrography for biological programs, the dynamics of cell divisions, and early animal development.
  • Ann Kohlhaas, Ph.D., University of Colorado. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Ecology, behavior and conservation of vertebrates especially primates, other mammals, and birds.
  • Pete Mayol, Ph.D., Purdue University. Professor of Botany Emeritus. Interests: Phytopathological and nematological studies, pathogenicity, host parasite relations and other microbial interactions.
  • Wayne Pierce, Ph.D., Washington State University. Professor of Botany. Interests: Membrane transport, mineral nutrition of hydroponic crops and propagation of plants.
  • Pamela Roe, Ph.D., Washington State University. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Marine biology.
  • Kenneth G. Schoenly, Ph.D., University of New Mexico. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Invertebrate ecology, forensic entomology, ecological agriculture and biological control.
  • Walter Tordoff, III, Ph.D., Colorado State University. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Ecology of genetics of valley and mountain populations of reptiles and amphibians.
  • Flora Watson, Ph.D., University of Southern California. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Human biology and the physiological basis of animal behavior.
  • Steven J. Wolf, Ph.D., University of Alberta. Professor of Botany. Interests: Systematics, phytogeography and evolution of vascular plants, particularly Asteraceae. Computer applications in biology and education.
  • Daniel F. Williams, Ph.D., University of New Mexico. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Nongame wildlife conservation; ecology and evolution of desert rodents; ecology of bats and systematics of heteromyid rodents. Email: danwilliams@bendcable.com
  • James J. Youngblom, Ph.D., University of Minnesota. Professor of Genetics Emeritus. Interests: Molecular genetics, particularly the current applications of recombinant DNA technology.

Updated: September 21, 2023