Faculty & Staff Bios

Ritin Bhaduri

Ritin Bhaduri

rbhaduri@csustan.edu
209-667-3485
N263

Ph.D., George Washington University. Assistant Professor in Biological Sciences. Interests: Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology, Parasitology, Behavioral Ecology.

Sarah Bissonnette

Sarah Bissonnette

sbissonnette@csustan.edu
209-664-3499
N264

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institue of Technology. Assistant Professor in Biological Sciences. Interests: Investigating the development of conceptual expertise in Biology. Probing biology students' molecular understanding of everyday biological phenomena.

Matthew Cover

Matthew Cover

mcover@csustan.edu
209-667-3603
N273
Website
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Associate Professor of Ecology. Interests: Stream ecology, restoration ecology, biological monitoring of water quality with invertebrates and algae, watershed sciences.

Michael Fleming

Michael Fleming

mfleming1@csustan.edu
209-664-6923
N269

Ph.D., University of Washington. Associate Professor of Biological Sciences. Interests: Ecology (communities and populations, plant/animal interactions), science education (metacognition, identifying/correcting misconceptions, learning how to learn).

Andrew Gardner

Andrew G. Gardner

agardner1@csustan.edu
209-667-3596
N261

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison. Assistant Professor of Botany. Interests: Plant systematics, morphological and floral evolution, biogeography.

Marina M. Gerson

Marina M. Gerson

mgerson@csustan.edu
209-664-6547
N272

Ph.D., University of Texas at Arlington. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Ecology, herpetology, behavioral ecology, evolution, desert biology, tropical biology.

Mark A. Grobner

Mark A. Grobner

mgrobner@csustan.edu
209-667-3628
N268
Website
Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Biological Sciences. Interests: Developmental biology, emphasis on mammalian pre-implantation embryo development.

Terry D. Jones

Terry D. Jones

tdjones@csustan.edu
209-667-3488
N267
Website
Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Vertebrate functional morphology and paleobiology.

Choong-Min Kang

Choong-Min Kang

ckang1@csustan.edu
209-667-3484
N274

Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Associate Professor of Microbiology. Interests: Bacterial regulation of gene expression and physiology in response to environmental changes.

Patrick A. Kelly

Patrick A. Kelly

pkelly@csustan.edu
209-667-3446
N277

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley. Professor of Zoology and Coordinator of the Endangered Species Recovery Program. Interests: Conservation and recovery of endangered plants, animals, and ecosystems in California.

Ann K. Kohlhaas

Ann K. Kohlhaas

akohlhaas@csustan.edu
209-667-3695
N275

Ph.D., University of Colorado. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Ecology, behavior and conservation of vertebrates especially primates, other mammals, and birds.

Brian Sardella

Brian Sardella

bsardella@csustan.edu
209-667-3483
N270
Website
Ph.D., University of British Columbia. Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences. Interests: Ecological and Comparative Physiology. I am particularly interested in how vertebrates adapt their physiological mechanisms to extreme environments.

Jeff Scales

Jeffrey A. Scales

jscales1@csustan.edu
209-667-3480
N262

Ph.D., University of Hawaii, Manoa. Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences. Interests: Functional morphology at both the organismal level and higher levels. My research focuses on the locomotor and feeding systems in reptiles and amphibians.

Kenneth G. Schoenly

Kenneth G. Schoenly

kschoenly@csustan.edu
209-667-3949
N271
Website
Ph.D., University of New Mexico. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Invertebrate ecology, forensic entomology, ecological agriculture and biological control.

My Lo Thao

My Lo Thao

mthao@csustan.edu
209-667-3649
N276
Website
Ph.D., University of California, Davis. Professor of Microbiology. Interests: Genetics and evolution of endosymbiotic bacteria-insect associations, environmental microbiology (bioremediation), and molecular biology.

Stuart C. Wooley

Stuart C. Wooley

swooley@csustan.edu
209-664-6926
N378

Ph.D., University of California, Riverside. Professor of Botany. Interests: Plant-herbivore interactions, interactions between above- and below-ground organisms--particularly those that are symbiotic. Improving science teaching.

James J. Youngblom

James J. Youngblom

jyoungblom@csustan.edu
209-667-3950 / 209-664-6924
N260 (Dept. Chair)

Ph.D., University of Minnesota. Professor of Biological Sciences. Interests: Molecular genetics, particularly the current applications of recombinant DNA technology.

Janey Youngblom

Janey Youngblom

jyoungblom1@csustan.edu
209-667-3487
N265

Ph.D., University of Minnesota. Professor of Biological Sciences. Interests: Human genetics and the application of molecular and cytogenetic techniques to the study of human disorders.

Lecturers

Jennifer Cooper

Jennifer Cooper

jcooper3@csustan.edu
209-664-6694
N256
Website
Ph.D., Purdue University. Interests: Population genetics, behavioral genetics, evolution of mammalian social behavior.

Stephanie Disch

Stephanie Disch

sdisch@csustan.edu
209-664-6548
N253

MFA, Academy of Art University, San Francisco. Interests: Drawing and painting natural forms, polarized-light microscopy and glass arts/glass blowing.

Sarah Emerson

Sara E. Emerson

semerson1@csustan.edu
209-664-6548
N253

Ph.D., University of Illinois, Chicago. Interests: Foraging ecology, human/wildlife interactions, landscapes of fear, habitat, and diet selection by mammals.

Jamila Newton

Jamila Newton

jnewton4@csustan.edu
N202

Ph.D., Harvard University. Interests: Cell biology, neuroscience, human physiology, and endocrinology. Neuronal regulation of nutrient metabolism. Microscopy. Learning about extremophilic metabolism, advancements in bionanotechnology, and spectral imaging.

Sandra Vierra

Sandra Vierra

slehmannvierra@csustan.edu
209-667-3838
N252

MPH, Yale University. Interests: Health sciences and public health, with special interest in maternal child health. STEM Education, Ecology, and Economics.

Laurissa Hamilton

Laurissa Hamilton

lhamilton@csustan.edu
209-667-3489
N257

 

Sally Channing-Santiago

schanningsantiago@csustan.edu
209-667-6922
N251

Erica Fleming

efleming2@csustan.edu
209-667-3481
N255

Jonathan Lytle

jlytle1@csustan.edu
209-667-3838
N252

Kamal Dulai

kdulai@csustan.edu
209-667-6922
N251

Nora Hallquist-Hulse

nhallquisthulse@csustan.edu
N254

 

Manpreet Kaur

mkaur46@csustan.edu
N254

Staff

Renee Brown

Renee Brown

rvbrown@csustan.edu
209-667-3476
N259

Administrative Assistant.

Neil Jacklin

Neil Jacklin

njacklin@csustan.edu
209-667-3486
N235A

B.S., California State University, Stanislaus. Instructional Support Technician III. Interests: Entomology and hiking.

Christi Jantz

Christi Jantz

cjantz@csustan.edu
209-664-6549
N258

Administrative Support Coordinator. Interests: Bass fishing, camping, skiing, crochet and time with my family.

Carrie Sonke

Carrie Sonke

csonke@csustan.edu
209-667-3486
N235

B.S, University of California, Davis. Instructional Support Technician. Interests: Microbiology, population genetics, critters of every kind, and ballet/costume design/construction.

Emeritus/Retired Professors

  • David Gotelli, Ph.D., University of Washington. Professor of Botany Emeritus.
  • Steve Grillos, Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Botany Emeritus. Interests: Phloem tissue development; systematics of ferns and fern allies. He is also co-authoring a book on Weeds of California.
  • Glenn Hackwell, Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Biology and the behavior of bees, insect systematics and pollination dynamics.
  • James Hanson, Ph.D., Oregon State University. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Metabolism in cultured cardiac cells, microphotography and photomicrography for biological programs, the dynamics of cell divisions, and early animal development.
  • Pete Mayol, Ph.D., Purdue University. Professor of Botany Emeritus. Interests: Phytopathological and nematological studies, pathogenicity, host parasite relations and other microbial interactions.
  • Wayne Pierce, Ph.D., Washington State University. Professor of Botany. Interests: Membrane transport, mineral nutrition of hydroponic crops and propagation of plants.
  • Pamela Roe, Ph.D., Washington State University. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Marine biology.
  • Walter Tordoff, III, Ph.D., Colorado State University. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Ecology of genetics of valley and mountain populations of reptiles and amphibians.
  • Flora Watson, Ph.D., University of Southern California. Professor of Zoology. Interests: Human biology and the physiological basis of animal behavior.
  • Steven J. Wolf, Ph.D., University of Alberta. Professor of Botany. Interests: Systematics, phytogeography and evolution of vascular plants, particularly Asteraceae. Computer applications in biology and education.
  • Daniel F. Williams, Ph.D., University of New Mexico. Professor of Zoology Emeritus. Interests: Nongame wildlife conservation; ecology and evolution of desert rodents; ecology of bats and systematics of heteromyid rodents. Email: danwilliams@bendcable.com