University Writing Committee

Membership for 2019/2020

  • Cathlin Davis, (1) COEKSW
  • Melanie Martin, (1) COS
  • Tim Firch, (2) CBA 
  • Brian Psiropoulos, (2) English, CAHSS
  • Austin Avwunudiogba, (1) At Large
  • Chris Nagel, (2) CAHSS
  • John Wittman, Writing Program Coordinator, English
  • Matt Moberly, Writing Program Coordinator, Engish (Fall 2019)
  • Rachel Grimshaw, WPST Coordinator, ex-officio, non-voting  

2019/2020 Meeting Dates

  • TBD

Subcommittee Charge

The duties of the University Writing Subcommittee include to:

  1. Oversee the Writing Proficiency (WP) courses;
  2. Respond to special appeals or petitions from students regarding the Graduation Writing Assessment Requirement (GWAR);
  3. Assess the effectiveness of the program; and,
  4. Submit an annual year-end report to the UEPC, to include a summary of the years events and recommendations for next steps.