GREAT Steering Committee


GREAT expects to positively impact graduation rates and achievement gaps while maintaining student access to an engaging, high-quality education. GREAT will provide recommendations to the President and inform the campus community on strategies that will position the University to accomplish the following priority goals related to the Board of Trustees and Chancellor’s Office system-wide Graduation Initiative (GI) 2025:

  • improve Freshmen 4-year graduation rate and 6-year graduation rates;
  • eliminate the achievement gaps in graduation rates for underrepresented minority and Pell-eligible students; and
  • improve Transfer 2-year and 4-year graduation rates.

Specifically, GREAT will:

  • identify and examine barriers to improving graduation rates;
  • examine evidence of effectiveness in multiple existing programs designed to improve student success on our campus, as well as elsewhere;
  • make recommendations to the President and inform the campus community on initiatives/programs/services to meet the University’s priority goals related to GI 2025; and
  • oversee strategic implementation, assessment, and dissemination of the outcomes for these initiatives/programs/services for student success. 


  1. Lead consultation and refinement of the GI 2025 Student Success Plan submitted to the Chancellor’s Office (CO).
  2. Provide input on the implementation of the GI 2025 Student Success Plan.
  3. Host annual presentations on campus progress to various constituents and submit required reports to the CO annually and as otherwise requested.
  4. Disseminate through University Communications and Public Affairs campus progress on the GI 2025 Goals to the larger external community.
  5. Showcase and highlight progress on GI 2025 Goals to external partners (e.g., K-12, community college, parents, and employers) for student recruitment and career placement.


The GREAT Team is intended to be an ongoing entity through 2025, with specific goals and milestones identified on an annual basis, at the direction of the President.


  • Shawna Young, Co-chair, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Jovonte Willis, Co-chair, Director, Institutional Research
  • Ellen Junn, President
  • JungHa An, Chair and Professor, Mathematics
  • Lisa Bernardo, Director, Enrollment Services/Registrar
  • Mia Brudnicki, Special Initiatives Analyst, Office of the Provost
  • Helene Caudill, Dean, University Extended Education
  • Christopher Claus, Associate Professor, Communication Studies, Principal Writer, WASC Steering Committee
  • Juanita Cruthird-Billups, Director, Student Support Services
  • Scott Davis, Professor, English
  • Betsy Eudey, Faculty Director for Advising and Learning Cohorts, Program Director and Professor, Gender Studies
  • Christine Erickson, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Rafael Espinosa, Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Office of Information Technology
  • David Evans, Dean, College of Science
  • Steven Filling, Speaker-elect of the Faculty, Professor, Accounting
  • Tomàs Gomez-Arias, Dean, College of Business Administration
  • Noelia Gonzalez, Director, Admissions and Financial Aid
  • Kimberly Greer, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Faimous Harrison, Dean, Stockton Center
  • Darrell Haydon, Vice President, Business and Finance
  • Marie Hirschkorn, Technical Analyst, Faculty Affairs, and Office of the Provost
  • Gitanjali Kaul, Vice President, Strategic Planning, Enrollment Management, and Innovation
  • Michelle Legg, Director, Budget Planning & Administration
  • Erin Littlepage, Assessment Specialist, Office of the Provost
  • Matthew Lopez-Philips, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students
  • Maria Marquez, President, Associated Students Inc.
  • Sari Miller-Antonio, Associate Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Chair and Professor, Anthropology
  • Oddmund Myhre, Dean, College of Education, Kinesiology, and Social Work
  • Chris Nagel, Speaker of the Faculty, Lecturer, Philosophy
  • Keith Nainby, Faculty Fellow for Advising, Chair and Professor, Communication Studies
  • Gabriela Nuño, Director, Academic Success Center
  • Paz Olivérez, Senior Associate Vice President, Dean of Students, Student Affairs
  • Dana Reneau, Professor, Mathematics
  • Neisha Rhodes, Director for Presidential Initiatives, Office of the President
  • Ronald Rodriguez, Dean of Library Services
  • Rosalee Billingslea Rush, Senior Associate Vice President for Communications, Marketing and Media Relations
  • Harold Stanislaw, Professor, Psychology, Co-chair of WASC Steering Committee
  • Jill Tiemann-Gonzalez, Associate Vice President of Holistic Student Support, Organizational Operations and Strategic Initiatives, Student Affairs
  • Amanda Theis, Director of Academic Operations, Office of the Provost
  • Mark Thompson, Professor, English
  • Jim Tuedio, Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
  • Gerard Wellman, Faculty Coordinator for High Impact Practices, and Associate Professor, Public Administration
  • Molly Winter, Chair and Professor, English
  • John Wittman, Professor, English
  • Stuart Wooley, Faculty Fellow for Assessment; Faculty Director of General Education; Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Elizabeth Zafra, Administrative Support Assistant for Student Success Programs, Office of the Provost

GREAT Steering Committee Charge.pdf