Faculty Development Committee

The Faculty Development Committee is a committee established by the Academic Senate. Section 5.0 identifies the composition and task of the committee.

5.1) The FDC shall be comprised of six voting faculty members including five, each from a different discipline. Elections shall be conducted by the Committee on Committees according to the procedures in Article VI., Section 3.2. The Speaker shall be an ex officio voting member of the FDC. A non-voting executive secretary shall be appointed by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.

  1. The FDC shall, from among its members, elects its own chair each year.
  2. Elected members of the FDC shall have terms of office of two years. The terms shall be staggered. The terms of newly elected members shall commence with the final day of scheduled classes for the academic year.

5.2) The duties for the FCD shall include the following:

  1. To help faculty improve their competence as teachers and scholars.
  2. To promote the professional development of the faculty.
  3. To encourage faculty research, scholarship, creativity, and artistic activity.
  4. To promote an atmosphere of shared scholarly activity.
  5. To advise the Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs on faculty development.

Committee Members

Nancy Burroughs(Sp 2014) Communication Studies nburroughs@csustan.edu 3841
Heather Coughlin(1) Mathematics hcoughlin@csustan.edu 3444
Jennifer Cooper(1) Biology jcooper3@csustan.edu 6694
Maryann Hight(2) Library mhight@csustan.edu 6553
Katie Olivant(2) Liberal Studies kolivant@csustan.edu 6813
Kevin Van Dewark(2) MOM kvandewark@csustan.edu 6695
Ex. Secretary      
Dennis Shimek Faculty Affairs and HR dshimek@csustan.edu 3746
Ex-Officio Members      
Betsy Eudey FCETL beudey@csustan.edu 3215
Glenn Pillsbury OIT gpillsbury@csustan.edu 6511
Ann Strahm Sociology astrahm@csustan.edu  
Voting member of FDC      
John García Speaker of the Faculty jgarcia@csustan.edu 3670
Ximena García Secretary mxgarcia@csustan.edu 3216