Faculty Development Committee

The Faculty Development Committee is a committee established by the Academic Senate. Section 5.0 identifies the composition and task of the committee.

Section 5.0 There shall be a standing committee of the Academic Senate on faculty development, hereinafter referred to as the Faculty Development Committee (FDC).
 

5.1 The FDC shall be composed of seven voting faculty members.  The Speaker shall be an ex-officio voting member. Five voting faculty members shall come from among instructional and non-instructional faculty, with one representative from each college and one at-large member. A sixth voting faculty member shall be a non-tenure track faculty member (elected by non-tenure track faculty).

 

The Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Human Resources (or designee), a representative from OIT/Learning Services, and the director of the Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning shall be ex-officio, non-voting members.

 

Elections shall be conducted by the Committee on Committees according to the procedures in Article VI., Section 3.2.
 

a) The FDC shall, from among its members, elect its own Chair each year.
b) Elected members of the FDC shall have terms of office of two years, with the exception of the lecturer representative who shall serve a one-year term. Two-year terms shall be staggered. The terms of newly elected members shall commence with the final day of scheduled classes for the academic year.

c) Members of the Faculty Development Committee are not eligible to apply for FDC mini grants. 

5.2 The duties of the FDC shall include the following:
a) To help integrate new faculty into the University community.

b) To help faculty improve their competence as teachers and scholars.
c) To promote the professional development of the faculty.
d) To encourage faculty research, scholarship, creativity, and artistic activity.
e) To promote an atmosphere of shared scholarly activity.
f) To advise the campus community, primarily through the Director of the Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning and the Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Human Resources on issues related to faculty development.

Constitutional amendment on 5/22/17

2017-2018 Committee Members

NAME DEPARTMENT E-MAIL EXTENSION
Augustine Avwunudiogba(1) Geography aavwunudiogba@csustan.edu 3221
Chris Bradshaw(1) MOM cbradshaw3@csustan.edu 4458
Esther Mckoon(1) Sociology emckoon3@csustan.edu 6513
Heather Dean(1) Teacher Education hdean@csustan.edu 3364
Gina Cook (2) Psychology gcook2@csustan.edu 3575
Marty Giaramita (1) Geology mgiaramita@csustan.edu 3558
Ex-Officio Members (non-voting)
Bob Koehler OIT bkoehlher@csustan.edu 6511
Marina Gerson Biology/FCETL mgerson@csustan.edu 3215
Jason Myers AVP Faculty Affairs jcmyers@csustan.edu 3392
Ex-Officio Members (voting)
Cathlin Davis Speaker of the Faculty/ Liberal Studies cmdavis@csustan.edu 6683
Staff      
Emy Barsley Coordinator ebarsley@csustan.edu 3216

 

Fall 2017 Meetings

TBD