Faculty Development Committee

The Faculty Development Committee is a committee established by the Academic Senate. Section 5.0 identifies the composition and task of the committee.

5.1 The FDC shall be comprised of seven voting faculty members.  Five voting faculty members shall come from among instructional and non-instructional faculty (elected by the general faculty).  The composition of these five members shall be:

  • One representative from each college;
  • One additional at-large member from the instructional or non-instructional faculty body.
  • A sixth voting faculty member shall be a lecturer (non-tenure track) faculty member (elected by lecturers).  Elections shall be conducted by the Committee on Committees according to the procedures in Article VI., Section 3.2.
  • The Speaker shall be an ex-officio voting member of the FDC.

The Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Human Resources (or designee), a representative from OIT/Learning Services, and the director of the Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning shall be ex-officio, non-voting members.

  1. The FDC shall, from among its members, elect its own Chair each year.
  2. Elected members of the FDC shall have terms of office of two years, with the exception of the lecturer representative who shall serve a one-year term. Two-year terms shall be staggered. The terms of newly elected members shall commence with the final day of scheduled classes for the academic year.
  3. Members of the Faculty Development Committee are not eligible to apply for FDC mini grants. 

5.2 The duties of the FDC shall include the following:

  1. To help integrate new faculty into the University community.
  2. To help faculty improve their competence as teachers and scholars.
  3. To promote the professional development of the faculty.
  4. To encourage faculty research, scholarship, creativity, and artistic activity.
  5. To promote an atmosphere of shared scholarly activity.
  6. To advise the campus community, primarily through the Director of the Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning and the Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Human Resources on issues related to faculty development.

2016-2017 Committee Members

NAME DEPARTMENT E-MAIL EXTENSION
Augustine Avwunudiogba(1) Geography aavwunudiogba@csustan.edu 3221
Chris Bradshaw(1) MOM cbradshaw3@csustan.edu 4458
Jennifer Cooper(1) Biological Sciences jcooper3@csustan.edu 3476
Anysia Mayer(1) Adv. Studies apmayer@csustan.edu 3364
Mandy Huang (2) Finance thuang@csustan.edu 3049
Marty Giaramita (1) Geology mgiaramita@csustan.edu 3558
Ex-Officio Members (non-voting)
Bob Koehler OIT bkoehlher@csustan.edu 6511
Marina Gerson Biology/FCETL mgerson@csustan.edu 3215
Ted Wednt Faculty Affairs and HR tdwendt@csustan.edu 3455
Ex-Officio Members (voting)
Stuart Sims Speaker of the Faculty/ Music ssims@csustan.edu 3423
Staff      
Emy Barsley Coordinator ebarsley@csustan.edu 3216