Discover what you can learn and where a computer science major can take you.

Do you like puzzles? Problem solving? Math? Science? How about working in teams? Computer Science might be for you. Computer science majors will use their skills in technological areas such as computer networking, image processing, database design and development and artificial intelligence. Students focus on problem solving, taking into account the capabilities of the technology and available resources.

Interests

  • Computer organization
  • Operating systems
  • Programming languages
  • Theory of algorithms
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Software engineering
  • Communication networks
  • e-Commerce
  • cryptography

Learn

  • Internal data structures
  • Associated algorithms
  • Analytic techniques
  • Ethical issues
  • Computer operating system principles

Go!

  • Game designer
  • Systems analyst
  • Programmer
  • System administrator
  • Network administrator
  • Software engineer
  • Database manager
  • Computer security specialist

"The small size of our department allows the faculty to invest time in each student and build lasting professional relationships that help to propel us into our future careers. "

BRANDON HALPIN
Computer Science Student


Location & Contacts

Address:
California State University, Stanislaus
Department of Computer Science
One University Circle
Turlock, California 95382
See Maps & Directions

Building: Demergasso-Bava Hall
Services Gateway Building
See Building #21: Map
Office: DBH287 - See Map

Dept. Chair
Dr. Tom Carter
Phone: (209) 667-3175
Email: tcarter@csustan.edu

Dept. Administrative Assistant
Marlys Knutsen
Phone: (209) 667-3185
Email: mknutsen@csustan.edu

CS Computer Lab: DBH 288

Faculty

Name Phone (209) Email
Dan L. Bratten 667-3185 dbratten@csustan.edu
Thomas J. Carter 667-3175 tom@cs.csustan.edu
Joe Cash 667-3185 joecash@cs.csustan.edu
Adamou Fode Made 667-3185 afodemade@csustan.edu
Debbie Gomez 667-3185 dgomez@csustan.edu
Daehee Kim 667-3193 dkim10@csustan.edu
Kyu Koh 667-3846 kkoh@csustan.edu
Xuejun Liang 667-3169 xliang@cs.csustan.edu
Melanie Martin 667-3787 mmartin@cs.csustan.edu
Ivan Mendez 667-3185 imendez@cs.csustan.edu
Sargon Peyour 667-3185 speyour@csustan.edu
John J. Sarraillé 667-3345 john@ishi.csustan.edu
Prerak Shah 667-3185 pshah@cs.csustan.edu
Megan Thomas 667-3584 mthomas@cs.csustan.edu
directional sign

Career Opportunities

Computer science majors can pursue careers in areas such as:

  • Information technology consultanciesInformation technology service providers
  • Information technology departments for:
    • Telecommunications
    • Aerospace and defense
    • Financial services
    • Retail
    • Healthcare
    • Manufacturing
    • Agricultural
    • Public sectors

Updated: February 17, 2022