April 29, 2022

Stanislaus State honored its student leaders Friday, April 29 during the University’s annual Student Leadership Awards held at the campus’s Event Center.

The Student Leadership Awards recognize students and organizations that go beyond the call of duty to help their community, peers, organization and the University. Organizations are also acknowledged for their Warrior spirit, achievements and contribution to the community.

Student Organization Awards

  • President’s Trophy: Peer Health Educators
  • Most Spirited Organization: Kappa Sigma Omicron-Omega
  • Most Improved Organization: Indigenous Students in Activism
  • Greek 360: Cynella Aghasi
  • Most Promising New Greek Member: Ivonne Paz

Campus Awards 

  • Judge and Alverta Hughes Humanitarian Award: Britney Patiu
  • Carol Burke Memorial Award: Jose Navarro
  • Miriam V. and John L. Keymer Memorial Award: Angelica Maghinay
  • Student Empowerment Award: Julie Anaya

Diversity and Social Justice Awards

  • ASI Diversity Awareness Award: ISA: Indigenous Students in Activism
  • Innovative Social Justice Response Award: ISA: Indigenous Students in Activism
  • Social Justice Advocacy: Karlos Marquez

Distinguished Awards

  • Outstanding Student Leader of the Year Award: Julian Johnson-Millan
  • Greatest Achievement: Kappa Sigma Omicron-Omega
  • Student Advisor of the Year Award: Associate Professor Gönül Schara
  • Outstanding Student Organization: Eco Warriors