Mentors

How can I become a Mentor?

CSU Stanislaus faculty members wishing to participate in the Faculty Mentor Program can call the FMP office at (209) 667-3021, or drop by the FMP office located in the University Student Union (USU), room 103.

What is mentoring?

"A mentor is a person who acts as a sponsor, advocate, guide-or who teaches, advises, trusts, critiques, another to express, pursue and finalize his/her goals." Van Zant 1980

FMP's mentors are specifically trained to meet the needs of CSU, Stanislaus students. Mentors are committed to working with students and enhancing their opportunities for success. The Faculty represents a wide range of academic disciplines. Currently we have thirty seven faculty mentors from sixteen departments.

The faculty participate in on going training for new faculty, mentor recruits and established faculty mentors. Training includes but not limited to, the review and history of the program, team building, cultural awareness, understanding diversity, and interpersonal strategies for improved communication. CSU, Stanislaus faculty mentors agree the "experiential" workshops are successful, helpful, and that the opportunities for discussion also allow them to get to know each other better. In addition to the personal meeting times arranged between mentors and their protégés, the faculty mentors and student protégés meet on a monthly basis that is arranged and provided by the program.

What does a mentor do?

  • Inspires you in bad times 
  • Develops the self-confidence needed for growth 
  • Shares your values and ideas 
  • Guides you with mutual trust and understanding 
  • Helps you design clear and realistic goals 
  • Shares your dreams and enlarges your vision 
  • Encourages responsible behavior 
  • Believes in you 
  • Motivates, encourages, and advises you to succeed 
  • Helps you expand your horizons 
  • Assists you during a crisis or a turning point
  • Boosts your self esteem 
  • Broadens your contacts on campus and in the community
  • Supports your career and educational goals

How long does mentoring last?

Mentor-Protégé relationships can develop into friendships that last a lifetime.

FMP Trained Mentor List

Last Name, First Name Email Address Department Office Phone
Aleman, Elvin Ealeman@csustan.edu Chemistry N 359 667-3783
Avwunudiogba, Austin Aavwunudiogba@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography and Ethnic Studies C 216A 667-3221
Bell, Ellen ebell3@csustan.edu Anthropology C 237B 667-6523
Burroughs, Nancy nburroughs@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 128 667-3271
Cook, Gina gcook2@csustan.edu Psychology C 223D 667-3575
Colnic, Dave Dcolnic@csustan.edu Political Science C 130B 667-2478
Davis, Scott sdavis@csustan.edu  English L 195D 667-3883
Espinoza, Suzanne sespinoza1@csustan.edu Student Affairs MSR 360 667-3177
Eudey, Betsy Beudey@csustan.edu Gender Studies C 107B 664-6673
Foreman, Bill Wforeman@csustan.edu English DBH 234B 664-6509
Gerson, Marina mgerson@csustan.edu Biology N 272 664-6547
Giaramita, Marty mgiaramita@csustan.edu Geology N 151 667-3558
Gonzales, Christy CGonzales@csustan.edu  Liberal Studies DBH 300 667-3749
Guichard, AnaMarie Aguichard@csustan.edu Psychology C 231F 667-3382
Hurner, Sheryl Shurner@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 134 664-3270
Jaasma, Marge Mjaasma@csustan.edu Academic Affairs MSR 372 667-3023
Jasek-Rysdahl, Kelvin KJasekRysdahl@csustan.edu Economics C 101 667-3182
Kohlhaas, Ann akohlhaas@csustan.edu Biology N 275 667-3695
Lopez-Contreras, Enrique  elcontreras@csustan.edu Modern Languages DBH 229 667-3501
Luevano, Victor vluevano@csustan.edu Psychology C 231-G 667-3096
Marcell, Taylor tmarcell@csustan.edu Kinesiology FH 132 667-6692
Miller, Donald "Don" dmiller5@csustan.edu English L195M 667-3361
Nainby, Keith KNainby@csustan.edu  Communication Studies DBH 127 667-3523
Olivant, Katie Kolivant@csustan.edu Liberal Studies DBH 336 667-6813
Phillips, Shane Sphillips@csustan.edu Chemistry N 359 667-3545
Powell, Brent bpowell1@csustan.edu Kinesiology FH 132 667-3348
Russell, Scott Srussell1@csustan.edu Chemistry N 365 664-6870
Soodjinda, Daniel Dsoodjinda@csustan.edu Liberal Studies DBH 344 664-6607
Stessman, Chad Cstessman@csustan.edu Chemistry N 364 664-6667
Stessman, Nhu-Y Nstessman@csustan.edu  Chemistry N 363 667-3555
Stone, Koni Kstone@csustan.edu Chemistry N 364 664-6667
Strongin, Dawn dstrongin@csustan.edu Psychology C 237  667-3562
Wallace, Richard  rwallace@csustan.edu Anthropology C 215B 667-3228
Williams, Gary gwilliams1@csustan.edu Psychology see dept office 667-3386
Wooley, Stuart Swooley@csustan.edu Biology N 262 664-6926
Youngblom, Jim jyoungblom@csustan.edu Biology N 264 667-3950
Watson, Flora fwatson@csustan.edu Biology N 276 667-3483