Mentors

How can I become a Mentor?

CSU Stanislaus faculty members wishing to participate in the Faculty Mentor Program can call the FMP office at (209) 667-3778, or drop by the FMP office located in the University Student Union (USU), room 103.

What is mentoring?

"A mentor is a person who acts as a sponsor, advocate, guide-or who teaches, advises, trusts, critiques, another to express, pursue and finalize his/her goals." Van Zant 1980

FMP's mentors are specifically trained to meet the needs of CSU, Stanislaus students. Mentors are committed to working with students and enhancing their opportunities for success. The Faculty represents a wide range of academic disciplines. Currently we have thirty seven faculty mentors from sixteen departments.

The faculty participate in on going training for new faculty, mentor recruits and established faculty mentors. Training includes but not limited to, the review and history of the program, team building, cultural awareness, understanding diversity, and interpersonal strategies for improved communication. CSU, Stanislaus faculty mentors agree the "experiential" workshops are successful, helpful, and that the opportunities for discussion also allow them to get to know each other better. In addition to the personal meeting times arranged between mentors and their protégés, the faculty mentors and student protégés meet on a monthly basis that is arranged and provided by the program.

What does a mentor do?

  • Inspires you in bad times
  • Develops the self-confidence needed for growth
  • Shares your values and ideas
  • Guides you with mutual trust and understanding
  • Helps you design clear and realistic goals
  • Shares your dreams and enlarges your vision
  • Encourages responsible behavior
  • Believes in you
  • Motivates, encourages, and advises you to succeed
  • Helps you expand your horizons
  • Assists you during a crisis or a turning point
  • Boosts your self esteem
  • Broadens your contacts on campus and in the community
  • Supports your career and educational goals

How long does mentoring last?

Mentor-Protégé relationships can develop into friendships that last a lifetime.

FMP Trained Mentor List

Last Name, First Name Email Address Department Office Phone
Aleman, Elvin Ealeman@csustan.edu Chemistry N 359 667-3783
An, Jung-Ha jan@csustan.edu Mathematics S 109A 667-6523
Arounsack, Steve sarounsack@csustan.edu Anthropology C 215F 667-3556
Avwunudiogba, Austin avwunudiogba@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography and Ethnic Studies C 216A 667-3221
Bernard, Jeff jbernard1@csustan.edu Kinesiology F 137 667-6819
Bhaduri, Ritan rbhaduri@csustan.edu Biology N 236 667-3485
Biedendorf, Jennifer jbiedendorf@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 360 667-3320
Burroughs, Nancy nburroughs@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 128 667-3271
Chan, Sarah schan7@csustan.edu Music M 42 667-3429
Chintakrindi, Sriram schintakrindi@csustan.edu Criminal Justice C 125 667-3409
Claus, Christopher cclaus@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 133 667-3374
Colnic, Dave dcolnic@csustan.edu Political Science C 130B 667-3520
Cook, Gina gcook2@csustan.edu Psychology C 223D 667-3575
Dorsey, Andy adorsey@csustan.edu English DBH 271 667-6842
Frost, Jeffrey jfrost@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography, Ethnic Studies C 216 667-3479
Gerson, Marina mgerson@csustan.edu Biology N 272 664-6547
Giaramita, Marty mgiaramita@csustan.edu Geology N 151 667-3558
Gonzales, Christy cgonzales@csustan.edu Liberal Studies DBH 300 667-3163
Guichard, Annie aguichard@csustan.edu Psychology C 231F 667-3382
Haapanen, Iris ihaapanen@csustan.edu Teacher Eduation DBH 328E 667-3003
Jaasma, Marge mjaasma@csustan.edu AVP MSR 667-3021
Jasek-Rysdahl, Kelvin kjasekrysdahl@csustan.edu Economics C 100A 667-3182
Lo, Bao blo@csustan.edu Ethnic Studies C 123 667-6675
Luevano, Victor vluevano@csustan.edu Psychology C 231 667-3096
Nainby, Keith knainby@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 127 667-3523
Phillips, Shane sphillips@csustan.edu Chemistry N 359 667-3545
Powell, Brent bpowell1@csustan.edu Kinesiology F 132 667-3348
Rosas, Abigail arosas5@csustan.edu Ethnic Studies C 123A 667-3250
Russell, Scott srussell1@csustan.edu Chemistry N 365 664-6870
Shrader, Rebekah rshrader@csustan.edu Economics C 101B 667-6618
Soodjinda, Daniel dsoodjinda@csustan.edu Liberal Studies DBH 344 664-6607
Stone, Koni kstone@csustan.edu Chemistry N 358 664-3570
Strongin, Dawn dstrongin@csustan.edu Psychology C 237B 667-3562
Tumolo, Michael mtumolo@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 125 667-3862
Wallace, Richard rwallace@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography, Ethnic Studies C 237B 667-3228
Williams, Gary gwilliams1@csustan.edu Psychology C 229 667-3386
Wilson, Bethney bwilson6@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 134 667-3270
Youngblom, James "Jim" jyoungblom@csustan.edu Biology N 264 667-3950