Mentors

How can I become a Mentor?

Stanislaus State faculty members wishing to participate in the Faculty Mentor Program can call the FMP office at (209) 667-3778, or drop by the FMP office located in the University Student Union (USU), room 103.

What is mentoring?

"A mentor is a person who acts as a sponsor, advocate, guide-or who teaches, advises, trusts, critiques, another to express, pursue and finalize his/her goals." Van Zant 1980

FMP's mentors are specifically trained to meet the needs of CSU, Stanislaus students. Mentors are committed to working with students and enhancing their opportunities for success. The Faculty represents a wide range of academic disciplines. Currently we have thirty seven faculty mentors from sixteen departments.

The faculty participate in on going training for new faculty, mentor recruits and established faculty mentors. Training includes but not limited to, the review and history of the program, team building, cultural awareness, understanding diversity, and interpersonal strategies for improved communication. CSU, Stanislaus faculty mentors agree the "experiential" workshops are successful, helpful, and that the opportunities for discussion also allow them to get to know each other better. In addition to the personal meeting times arranged between mentors and their protégés, the faculty mentors and student protégés meet on a monthly basis that is arranged and provided by the program.

What does a mentor do?

  • Inspires you in bad times
  • Develops the self-confidence needed for growth
  • Shares your values and ideas
  • Guides you with mutual trust and understanding
  • Helps you design clear and realistic goals
  • Shares your dreams and enlarges your vision
  • Encourages responsible behavior
  • Believes in you
  • Motivates, encourages, and advises you to succeed
  • Helps you expand your horizons
  • Assists you during a crisis or a turning point
  • Boosts your self esteem
  • Broadens your contacts on campus and in the community
  • Supports your career and educational goals

How long does mentoring last?

Mentor-Protégé relationships can develop into friendships that last a lifetime.

FMP Trained Mentor List

Last Name, First Name Email Address Department Office Phone
Alvim, Renato ralvim@csustan.edu Modern Languages S103B 667-6704
Avwunudiogba, Austin avwunudiogba@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography and Ethnic Studies C 216A 667-3221
Ayuba, Seidu aseidu@csustan.edu Economics C101E 667-3318
Azevedo, Martin mazevedo8@csustan.edu Art A38 667-3431
Bell, Ellen ebell3@csustan.edu Anthropology fieldhouse 667-6819
Bernard, Jeff jbernard1@csustan.edu Kinesiology F 137 667-6819
Biedendorf, Jennifer jbiedendorf@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 360 667-3320
Chan, Sarah schan7@csustan.edu Music M 42 667-3429
Chintakrindi, Sriram schintakrindi@csustan.edu Criminal Justice C 125 667-3409
Colnic, Dave dcolnic@csustan.edu Political Science C 130B 667-3520
Cook, Kelly kcotter@csustan.edu Psychology C 231 667-4432
Dawson, Veronica vradevadawson@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 129 667-3321
Dean, Heather hdean@csustan.edu Teacher Education DBH 328 667-3793
Eudey, Betsy beudy@csustan.edu Ethnic Studies    
Flores, Monica mmflores@csustan.edu English DBH 272  
Frost, Jeffrey jfrost@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography, Ethnic Studies C 216 667-3479
Gardner, Andrew agardner1@csutan.edu Biology N261 667-3596
Gerson, Marina mgerson@csustan.edu Biology N 272 664-6547
Giaramita, Marty mgiaramita@csustan.edu Geology N 151 667-3558
Gonzales, Christy cgonzales@csustan.edu Liberal Studies DBH 300 667-3163
Guichard, Annie aguichard@csustan.edu Psychology C 231F 667-3382
Harven, Aletha aharven@csustan.edu Psychology C 237d 667-3386
Johnson, Mary Ann mjohnston@csustan.edu Nursing S1 #211 667-386
Jasek-Rysdahl, Kelvin kjasekrysdahl@csustan.edu Economics C 100A 667-3182
Li, Jing Yun jli9@csustan.edu Management, Operations & Marketing    
Lo, Bao blo@csustan.edu Ethnic Studies C 123 667-6675
Luevano, Victor vluevano@csustan.edu Psychology C 231 667-3096
Markov, Alex amarkov@csustan.edu Communication Studies   667-3371
McNally, Alison amcnally@csustan.edu Geography C216 667-3726
Montero-Hernandez, Virginia vmonterohernandez@csustan.edu Ed.D Program DBH 350 667-6564
Nainby, Keith knainby@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 127 667-3523
Pedersen, Anita apedersen1@csustan.edu Psychology C231 667-3386
Powell, Brent bpowell1@csustan.edu Kinesiology F 132 667-3348
Russell, Scott srussell1@csustan.edu Chemistry N 365 664-6870
Shrader, Rebekah rshrader@csustan.edu Economics C 101B 667-6618
Soodjinda, Daniel dsoodjinda@csustan.edu Liberal Studies DBH 344 664-6607
Stone, Koni kstone@csustan.edu Chemistry N 358 664-3570
Strongin, Dawn dstrongin@csustan.edu Psychology C 237B 667-3562
Tumolo, Michael mtumolo@csustan.edu Communication Studies DBH 125 667-3862
Wallace, Richard rwallace@csustan.edu Anthropology, Geography, Ethnic Studies C 237B 667-3228
Williams, Gary gwilliams1@csustan.edu Psychology C 229 667-3386
Xu, Peter xxu@csustan.edu Management, Operations & Marketing DBH 245 667-3950
Youngblom, James "Jim" jyoungblom@csustan.edu Biology N 264 667-3950