Advising

Freshman, Sophomores, and other students who have not completed the Enrollment Requirements for the Major will be advised through the Academic Success Center


 

Junior and Senior Students who have completed Enrollment Requirements Use STAN Planner to plan your semester
Complete a Clearance for Registration Form that mirrors what you saved in STAN Planner before you meet with your advisor

 

STAN Planner is an interactive tool available in myCSUSTAN to help students be more proactive with their course planning. The user-friendly interface gives you a visual presentation of your path to timely degree completion.

FAQs

When do I see my major advisor?​   

  • ANSWER: The semester you will complete 60 units and the Enrollment Requirements.

What if I am changing majors to Kinesiology? 

  • ANSWER: You must have the Enrollment Requirements completed before you can be declared a Kinesiology Major. If the Enrollment Requirements are not complete, your major will then be Undeclared with a Kinesiology Interest.
  • The Enrollment Requirements vary slightly based on the concentration, but are located on the top of each concentration sheet. The Enrollment Requirements may include Biology, Physiology, Anatomy, Statistics, Chemistry, and Health in Today's Society. Check your specific concentration to be sure. 

What if I am switching Kinesiology concentrations?

  • ANSWER: Check with your current major advisor first

What if I will have 60 units (Junior) status at the end of Fall, 2017?

  • ANSWER: You must have Enrollment Requirements Completed (See FAQ #2) – schedule an advising appointment

For the Health Promotion concentration, do I have to take BIO1010/1020 and MBIO2010 and MBIO3010?

  • ANSWER: BIOL1010/1020 is generally a lower division GE requirement. Only students who were Pre-Nursing before switching to major in Kineisology may have MBIO2010 or MBIO3010 count as fullfilling the Biology Enrollment Requirement for the major.

For the Exercise Science concentration, will any Chemistry course count?

  • ANSWER: No, only General Chemistry (CHEM1100/1102) will fullfill the Chemistry Enrollment Requirement. Many of the graduate programs students want to attend after obtaining the Exercise Science concentration require at least General Chemistry. 

Where do I find copies of advising forms?


Degree Programs and Concentrations

 

B.A. in Kinesiology: Single Subject Matter Program P.E.(K12) (Yellow Sheet)

B.A. in Kinesiology: Exercise Science (Orange Sheet)

B.A. in Kinesiology: Health Promotion (Purple Sheet)


Advisors 

If you have previously seen an advisor, stay with them. If you are new, the advising list is divided among advisors based on the first letter of your last name.

B.A. in Kinesiology: Single Subject Matter Program P.E.(K12)

A - L Dr. Erin Hall FH 141 ehall@csustan.edu
M - Z Dr. Heather Deaner FH 138 hdeaner@csustan.edu

 

B.A. in Kinesiology: Exercise Science

A - L Dr. Sue Eastham FH 134 seastham@csustan.edu
M - Z Dr. Jeff Bernard FH 137 jbernard1@csustan.edu
 
 

B.A. in Kinesiology: Health Promotion

A - L Dr. Brent Powell FH 135 bpowell1@csustan.edu
M - Z Dr. Ping Luo FH 136 pluo@csustan.edu 

 

Students who are are following the white sheet (B.A. in Kinesiology) will see Dr. Heather Deaner, and students who are blue sheet (Liberal Studies - P.E. Concentration) will see Dr. Erin Hall.