Winners of Outstanding Professor Awards and Elizabeth Anne B. Papageorge Award Named

April 01, 2016


Dr. James T. Strong, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Stanislaus State, is pleased to announce the recipients of the outstanding professor awards and the Elizabeth Anne B. Papageorge Faculty Development Award for the 2015-16 academic year.

Outstanding Professor – Dr. Molly Crumpton Winter

Winter, professor of english, was heralded by many current and former students for her excellence and dedication. She spends many hours outside the classroom with her students — encouraging them and helping them to succeed. One student described her as giving firm, constructive guidance and instruction, but also presenting a personal, nurturing approachable demeanor.

Outstanding Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Professor – David Olivant

Olivant, professor of art, has established himself in the artistic community with an international following. He was educated at two of the most prestigious art schools in England. His undergraduate studies were at Falmouth School of Art and his master’s was earned at the Royal College of Art in London, where he studied painting. He has been a full-time instructor at Stanislaus State for 18 years.

Outstanding Community Service Professor – Tim Helfer, J.D.

Helfer, lecturer of criminal justice, has a passion for helping children at risk, as well as college students and faculty. Letters received from colleagues, students and community members consistently stressed profound respect for his work. He has lectured at Stanislaus State Since 1999 while conducting research in juvenile law, criminal law and constitutional law.

Outstanding Service in Faculty Governance Award – Dr. Cathlin Davis

Davis, professor of liberal studies, has a distinguished record of active participation in faculty governance, and an extensive summary of governance activities, selected projects and initiatives. She has served on the Faculty Affairs Committee (Chair Elect), Technology Learning Subcommittee for UEPC, the Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Policy Committee (Chair), University Institutional Review Board (Chair 2008-11), Faculty Budget Advisory Committee (2008-11) and University Writing Committee of UEPC. She is about to embark on a campus-wide examination of the roles of directors and program coordinators for FAC. In addition to her University commitments, she has found the time to join the Board of Directors for Habitat for Humanity.

Elizabeth Anne B. Papageorge Faculty Development Award – Dr. Daniel Soodjinda

Soodjinda, professor of liberal studies, is a very successful scholar, researcher and grant recipient. He demonstrates a thoughtful commitment and connection to students through outstanding teaching as well as noteworthy scholarship and service on campus and in the local community. He strives to allow students to discover their own strengths and weaknesses through a process of self-discovery and reflection.