Stan State Going 100 Percent Smoke- and Tobacco-Free on Sept. 1

June 12, 2017

 

Beginning September 1, 2017, Stanislaus State will be a completely tobacco-free, smoke-free and vape-free campus. All tobacco products, including cigarettes, hookahs, chewing tobacco, smokeless tobacco, vape pens and e-cigarettes will not be permitted in or outside any buildings or in parking areas.

These policies will protect the health and safety of Stan State's students, faculty, staff and campus visitors by eliminating second-hand smoke and will ensure equal access for individuals with asthma and smoke allergies.

By adopting these policies, Stan State will promote clean air, save staff time spent cleaning cigarette waste and better prepare our students for their future smoke-free work environments. Additionally, we wish to prevent our campus community from starting to smoke while we encourage those who do smoke to smoke less and to support those who have already quit to continue their healthy ways.

There are many reasons for taking these steps, but none more important than doing everything we can to protect the health of the entire campus community.

Did you know that tobacco is the leading cause of preventable and premature deaths in America, accounting for an estimated 443,000 (one out of five) deaths each year? In order to counter the negative effects of tobacco on campuses, the American College Health Association has recommended all colleges and universities adopt a 100 percent tobacco-free campus policy.

Already, in California, 102 public colleges and universities have significantly stronger policies than California State Law, which only requires no smoking within 20 feet of buildings. The entire University of California system has been 100 percent tobacco-free since January 1, 2014. And nationally more than 1,200 colleges are 100 percent smoke-free.

And starting September 1, it will be Stan State’s turn to clear the air.

There will be a summer-long campus rollout of the information regarding the new policies to make sure new and returning students, faculty and staff are aware of the rules. In addition, staff will be removing ash receptacles from around campus and adding signage to inform and remind everybody about the new policies. We invite your input, questions, concerns and ideas about the rollout so that we may incorporate them into a process that results in the entire Stan State community accepting and embracing the new smoke- and tobacco-free campus.

Let’s clear the air together.

Please direct your inquiries to one of the following Stan State Smoke- and Tobacco-Free Campus Task Force members:

Kellie Marshall, Human Resources / Equal Opportunity / Compliance KMarshall@csustan.edu

Scott Hennes, Student Health Center SHennes@csustan.edu

Amy Thomas, Safety & Risk Management ALThomas@csustan.edu

Nancy Medina, Student NMedina2@csustan.edu

Jennifer Humphrey JHumphrey@csustan.edu

Rose Jones, Human Resources / Equal Opportunity / Compliance RJones4@csustan.edu

Andy Roy, University Police ARoy@custan.edu

Melody Maffei, Facilities Services MMaffei@csustan.edu

Marcy Chvasta, Faculty MChvasta@csustan.edu

Wendy Olmstead, Auxiliary & Business Services Wolmstead@csustan.edu

Kristina Stamper, Communications and Public Affairs kstamper@csustan.edu

Brian VanderBeek, Communications and Public Affairs bvanderbeek@csustan.edu