Ethics in Public Service Award

Ten public leaders from Stanislaus and Merced counties have been announced as nominees for the 2007 Ethics in Public Service Award that will be presented on Friday, May 11 at California State University, Stanislaus.

The award nominees are Greg Aghazarian, 26th District State Assemblymember; Curt Andre, former Mayor of Turlock; Antonio Borba, Superintendent of the Salida Union School District; Dave Cogdill, 14th District State Senator; Joan Da Cruz, Environmental Health Specialist for Stanislaus County; David Duran, Atwater Elementary School District Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources; Alan Jenkins, a member of the Board of Commissioners for the Merced County Housing Authority; Patrick Sweeney, Superintendent of the Patterson Joint Unified School District; Lloyd Weaver, a member of the Bloss Memorial Healthcare District of Atwater Board of Directors; and Roy Wasden, Modesto Chief of Police.

Winner of the award will be announced at the May 11 breakfast ceremony scheduled for 7:30 a.m. in the Event Center. Tickets are $25 each or $200 for a table of eight and can be reserved on the CSU Stanislaus Web site at or by calling University Advancement at (209) 667-3131.

Co-sponsored by CSU Stanislaus and The Modesto Bee, the annual award acknowledges the value and impact of ethical judgment, integrity, responsibility, and service. The 10 nominees have been selected for their positive contributions in their communities and for demonstrating high ethical standards through their public service.