2018 Student Research Competition Archive

Congratulations to the award winners of the 32nd Annual Stan State Student Research Competition, held March 9, 2018!

At this competition, 37 students presented their research and creative projects to a panel of faculty jurors, student peers, faculty mentors, friends and family in six separate sessions based on discipline and topic.

Students competed for monetary awards for top presenters in each category, as well as for the honor of being nominated to represent our university at the 32nd CSU Annual Statewide Student Research Competition, held at CSU Sacramento on May 4 and 5, 2018. At the CSU Statewide Student Research Competition, Genetic Counseling student Mara Hernandez won first place in the Health, Nutrution, and Clinical Sciences session for her research presentation, "Genetic Counselors' Experiences with Non-Paternity in the Clinic." Congratulations Mara!

Thanks to all of the students who participated and the faculty mentors who supported them. Our congratulations to the following outstanding presenters:

Campus Winners

Undergraduate Arts & Humanities Session

1st Place – Monica Gudino, *English* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello
2nd Place – Autumn Andersen, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Monica
Flores
3rd Place (tied) – Jarred White, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony
Perrello;

- Alyssa Moon, Art - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Staci

Scheiwiller

Biological & Natural Sciences Session

Undergraduate

1st Place – Taiga Yamaguchi, *Biology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ritin Bhaduri

2nd Place – Johnee Machado, Mary Jara & Rajnee Johal, *Biology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Jennifer Cooper

3rd Place – Krystle Sanders, *Kinesiology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Jeff Bernard

<u>Graduate</u>

1st Place– Christine Parisek, *Ecology and Sustainability* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ritin Bhaduri

Graduate Social Sciences Session

Masters

1st Place – Mara Hernandez, *Genetic Counseling* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Janey Youngblom

2nd Place – Rebecca Bettencourt, *Educational Technology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dawn Poole

3rd Place – Susana Diaz, *Social Work* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Sevaughn Banks

<u>Doctoral</u>

1st Place– Luangchee Xiong, *Educational Leadership* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Virginia Montero Hernandez

Undergraduate Social Sciences Session

1st Place – Megan Rossoni, *Music* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Karen Koner
2nd Place – Julia Cornejo, *Music* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Karen Koner
3rd Place – Jazareth Valencia, *Music* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Karen Koner

Undergraduate Physical Sciences Session

1st Place – Rene Padilla, *Physics* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Wing To

Graduate Arts & Humanities Session

1st Place – Heather Simmons, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Andrew Dorsey

2nd Place – Tara Dybas, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello 3rd Place – Jessica Curtis, *Interdisciplinary Studies* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Staci Scheiwiller

Statewide Research Competition Delegates

Rebecca Bettencourt, *Educational Technology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dawn Poole

Tara Dybas, English - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Monica Gudino, English - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Mara Hernandez, *Genetic Counseling* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Janey Youngblom

Rene Padilla, Physics - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Wing To

Christine Parisek, *Ecology and Sustainability* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ritin Bhaduri

Megan Rossoni, Music - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Karen Koner

Heather Simmons, English – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Andrew Dorsey

Taiga Yamaguchi, Biology - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ritin Bhaduri

Luangchee Xiong, *Educational Leadership* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Virginia Montero Hernandez

Statewide Award Winner

Mara Hernandez, Genetic Counseling

First Place in the Health, Nutrition, and Clinical Sciences session



Competition Judges

Special thanks to the faculty judges for their invaluable contributions – asking thoughtful critical questions, requiring the competitors to be sharp and to rise to the occasion, and making tough decisions in deliberation. Without them, the Student Research Competition would not be possible.

- Dr. Augustine Avwunudiogba, Geography
- Dr. Sarah Bissonnette, Biology
- Ms. Cynthia DeCure, Theatre
- Dr. Stacy Fahrenthold, History
- Dr. Monica Flores, English
- Dr. Andrew Gardner, Biology
- Dr. AnaMarie Guichard, Psychology
- Dr. Karen Koner, Music
- Dr. Victor Luévano, Psychology
- Dr. Mirta Maldonado, English
- Dr. Shannon Stevens, Communications
- Dr. Jennifer Strangfeld, Sociology
- Dr. Karen Webster, Teacher Education
- Dr. M. Blake Wilson, Criminal Justice
- Dr. Hakhamanesh Zangeneh, Philosophy