2017 Student Research Competition Archive



Congratulations to the award winners of the Stan State Student Research Competition, held March 10, 2017!

At this competition, 29 students presented their research and creative projects to a panel of faculty jurors, student peers, faculty mentors, friends and family in five separate sessions based on discipline and topic.

Students competed for monetary awards for top presenters in each category, as well as for the honor of being nominated to represent our university at the 31st CSU Annual Statewide Student Research Competition at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo on April 28 and 29, 2017.

Thanks to all of the students who participated and the faculty mentors who supported them. Our congratulations to the following outstanding presenters:

Campus Winners

Undergraduate Humanities & Social Science Session

1st Place - Michelle Varni, *Communication Studies* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Daniel Horvath 2nd Place - Mariah Gonsalez, *Communication Studies* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Michael Tumolo

3rd Place - Michelle Velazquez & Kylee McMillian, *Psychology* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr Michael Tumolo

Undergraduate Arts & Humanities Session

1st Place - Rebecca Rooker, *History* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Katherine Royer 2nd Place - Monica Gudino, *English* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Monica Flores 3rd Place - Matthew Lloyd, *History* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Marjorie

Sanchez-Walker

Undergraduate Natural Science Session

1st Place - Ka Chan, *Chemistry* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Nhu-Y Stessman 2nd Place - Guadalupe Calvillo, *Chemistry* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Alemán 3rd Place - Krystle Sanders, *Kinesiology* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Jeff Bernard

Graduate Arts & Humanities Session

1st Place - Jonathan Byron, *English* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello 2nd Place - Jacqueline Hollcraft, *English* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello 3rd Place - Leena Jamaleddin, *English* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Arnold Schmidt

Graduate Social Science Session

1st Place (Master's) - Josephine Hazelton, *Public Administration* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Gerard Wellman 1st Place (Doctoral) - Heather Muser, *Educational Leadership* - Faculty

Sponsor, Dr. Virginia Montero-Hernandez

Statewide Research Competition Delegates*

Jonathan Byron, English - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Guadalupe Calvillo, Chemistry - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Alemán

Ka Chan, Chemistry - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Nhu-Y Stessman

Mariah Gonsalez, *Communication Studies* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Michael Tumolo

Monica Gudino, English - Dr. Monica Flores

Josephine Hazelton, *Public Administration* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Gerard Wellman

Jacqueline Hollcraft, English - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Leena Jamaleddin, English - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Arnold Schmidt

Rebecca Rooker, History - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Katherine Royer

Michelle Varni, *Communication Studies* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Daniel Horvath

*pictured above with Provost Greer

Competition Judges

Special thanks to the faculty judges for their invaluable contributions – asking thoughtful critical questions, requiring the competitors to be sharp and to rise to the occasion, and making tough decisions in deliberation. Without them, the Student Research Competition would not be possible.

- Dr. JungHa An, Mathematics
- Dr. Sevaughn Banks, Social Work
- Dr. Sarah Chan, Music
- Dr. José R. Díaz-Garayúa, Geography
- Dr. Monica Flores, English
- Dr. Victor Luevano, Psychology
- Dr. Matt Moberly, English
- Dr. Virginia Montero-Hernandez, Education
- Dr. Brian Sardella, Biology

- Dr. Jeff Scales, Biology
- Dr. Staci Scheiwiller, Art
- Dr. Jennifer Strangfeld, Sociology
- Dr. Michael Tumolo, Communication Studies
- Dr. Shuo Wang, History
- Dr. Molly Winter, English