2016 Student Research Competition Archive

30th Annual Student Research Competition

Congratulations to the award winners of the Stan State Student Research Competition, held Friday, March 4, 2016!

At this competition, 37 students presented their research and creative projects to a panel of faculty jurors, student peers, faculty mentors, friends, and family in four undergraduate categories and three graduate categories.

Students competed for monetary awards for top presenters in each category, as well as for the honor of being nominated to represent our university at the 30th CSU Annual Statewide Student Research Competition at CSU Bakersfield on April 29-30, 2016.

Thanks to all of the students who participated and the faculty mentors who supported them. Our congratulations to the following outstanding presenters:

Campus Winners

First Place

Carla Antypas, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Paul Coates, Biological Sciences - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Tiffany Freitas, *Communication Studies* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Christopher Claus

Josephine Hazelton, *Political Science* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Gerard Wellman

Forrest Kohl, Chemistry – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Aleman

Miranda Lutzow, *Public Administration* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Nicholas Pinhey

Renee Mattos, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Andrew Dorsey

Second Place

Navi Bhangoo, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. James Youngblom

Jamiee Cook, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Molly Winter

Kathleen Giles, Anthropology – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ellen Bell

Amelia Hund, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Sheng Ly, Biological Sciences - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Third Place

Emily Buerer, Agricultural Studies – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Costanza Zavalloni

Jing Lee, Chemistry - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Aleman

Petros Maskal, *Agricultural Studies* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Costanza Zavalloni

Statewide Delegate Nominees Carla Antypas, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang Navi Bhangoo, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. James Youngblom

Paul Coates, Biological Sciences - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Jamiee Cook, English – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Molly Winter

Josephine Hazelton, *Political Science* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Gerard Wellman

Forrest Kohl, Chemistry – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Aleman

Miranda Lutzow, *Public Administration* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Nicholas Pinhey

Sheng Ly, Biological Sciences - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Renee Mattos, English – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Andrew Dorsey

Statewide Award Winner

Forrest Kohl, Chemistry

-Second Place in the Undergraduate Physical and Mathematical Sciences Category

Competition Judges:

A special thanks to the faculty judges for their invaluable contributions – asking thoughtful critical questions, requiring the competitors to be sharp and to rise to the occasion, and making tough decisions in deliberation. Without them, the Student Research Competition would not be possible.

Dr. Steve Arounsack, Anthropology

Dr. Jeffrey Bernard, Kinesiology

- Dr. Matthew Cover, Biological Sciences
- Dr. Michael Drake, Chemistry
- Dr. Marty Giaramita, Geology
- Dr. Choong-Min Kang, Biological Sciences
- Dr. Jessica Lambert, Psychology & Child Development
- Dr. Abu Mboka, Criminal Justice
- Dr. Donald Miller, English
- Dr. Anita Pedersen-Pennock, Psychology & Child Development
- Dr. Abigail Rosas, *Ethnic Studies*
- Dr. My Lo Thao, Biological Sciences
- Dr. Michael Tumolo, Communication Studies
- Dr. Gerard Wellman, Public Administration
- Dr. Steven Wood, Criminal Justice