2015 Student Research Competition Archive

29th Annual Student Research Competition

Congratulations to the award winners of the Stan State Student Research Competition, held February 27, 2015.

Students presented their research and creative projects to a panel of faculty jurors, student peers, faculty mentors, friends and family in five separate sessions based on discipline and topic.

Students competed for monetary awards for top presenters in each category, as well as for the honor of being nominated to represent our university at the 29th CSU Annual Statewide Student Research Competition at CSU San Bernardino, May 1-2, 2015.

Stan State Competition Award Winners First Place

Jessica Armendarez, English – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Aaron Brown & Darryl Kuhn, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. My Lo Thao

Kristl Commander & Joshua Commander, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Mark Hilgers & Rajvir Singh, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ritin Bhaduri

Donna Roberts, *Educational Leadership* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dennis Sayers

Second Place

Caleb Hampton & Richard Horton, *History* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Shuo Wang

Deborah Forrester, *Psychology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Lin Myers Jovanovic

Gregory Topete, Sociology – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dr. Ann Strahm

Ashley Loogman & Rasham Sandhu, *Geology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Horacio Ferriz

Tiffany Chu & Emmanuel Estrada, *Mathematics, Biological Sciences, Computer Science* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Jung-Ha An

Third Place

Monique Preciado, *Educational Leadership* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dawn Poole

Erika Anderson, *Communication Studies* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Christopher Claus

Jake Biewer & John Strand, Geology – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Julia Sankey

Statewide Delegate Nominees

Aaron Brown & Darryl Kuhn, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. My Lo Thao

Kristl Commander & Joshua Commander, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Caleb Hampton & Richard Horton, *History* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Shuo Wang

Mark Hilgers & Rajvir Singh, *Biological Sciences* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ritin Bhaduri

Ashley Loogman & Rasham Sandhu, *Geology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Horacio Ferriz

Donna Roberts, *Educational Leadership* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dennis Sayers

Competition Judges:

Special thanks to the faculty judges for their invaluable contributions – asking thoughtful critical questions, requiring the competitors to be sharp and to rise to the occasion, and making tough decisions in deliberation. Without them, the Student Research Competition would not be possible.

- Dr. Ellen Bell, Anthropology
- Dr. Valerie Broin, Philosophy
- Dr. Jennifer Cooper, Psychology
- Dr. Choong-Min Kang, Biological Sciences
- Dr. Donald Miller, English
- Dr. Katie Olivant, Liberal Studies
- Dr. Brandon Price
- Dr. Jim Riggs, Educational Leadership
- Dr. Abigail Rosas, Ethnic Studies
- Dr. Julia Sankey, Geology
- Dr. Arnold Schmidt, English
- Dr. Gerard Wellman, Public Administration
- Dr. Molly Winter, English
- Dr. Steven Wood, Criminal Justice