2014 Student Research Competition Archive

28th Annual Student Research Competition

Congratulations to the award winners of the Stan State Student Research Competition, held March 7, 2014.

Students presented their research and creative projects to a panel of faculty jurors, student peers, faculty mentors, friends and family in four separate sessions based on discipline and topic.

Students competed for monetary awards for top presenters in each category, as well as for the honor of being nominated to represent our university at the 28th CSU Annual Statewide Student Research Competition at CSU East Bay, May 2-3, 2014.

Stan State Competition Award Winners

First Place

Kelly Baker, *Ecology & Sustainability* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ann Kohlhaas

Jacob Brown, *Biology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Kyle Tanaka, *Philosophy* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. James Tuedio

Dawson Vorderbruegge, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Mark Thompson

Second Place

Stephanie Becerra, *Chemistry* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Alemán Lisa Diaz, *Educational Technology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Dawn Poole Johnny Luna, *Cultural Anthropology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Richard Wallace

Eric Nystrom, *History* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Katherine Royer

Third Place

Laura Carroll, *Social Work* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Shradha Tibrewal
Anthony Fagundes, *Geography* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Jennifer Helzer
Nathalie Perez, *Chemistry* - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Alemán
Alyx Steensma, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Anthony Perrello

Statewide Delegate Nominees

Stephanie Becerra, Chemistry – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Alemán

Kelly Baker, *Ecology & Sustainability* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Ann Kohlhaas

Jacob Brown, Biology - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Choong-Min Kang

Alejandra Guillen & Gabriela Vivanco, *Biology* – Faculty Sponsors, Drs. Jung-Ha An, My Lo Thao, Flora Watson

Johnny Luna, *Cultural Anthropology* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Richard Wallace

Nathalie Perez, Chemistry - Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Elvin Alemán

Kyle Tanaka, *Philosophy* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. James Tuedio

Dawson Vorderbruegge, *English* – Faculty Sponsor, Dr. Mark Thompson

Competition Judges:

A special thanks to the faculty judges for their invaluable contributions – asking thoughtful critical questions, requiring the competitors to be sharp and to rise to the occasion, and making tough decisions in deliberation. Without them, the Student Research Competition would not be possible.

Dr. Steve Arounsack, Anthropology

Dr. Ellen Bell, Anthropology

Dr. Kilolo Brodie, Social Work

Dr. Jennifer Cooper, Biology

Dr. Matthew Cover, Biology

Dr. Susan Marshall, English

Dr. Kathryn McKenzie, *Education*

Mr. David Olivant, Art

Dr. Gerard Wellman, Politics & Public Administration

Dr. Molly Winter, English