You can edit web pages on websites that you’re connected to and have permission to edit (see “Connecting to a website”). You cannot edit a web page if it is locked—that is, if someone else is currently editing it. When you browse to a web page, the message area under the toolbar indicates whether you can edit it.
While you edit a web page, Contribute saves it as a draft, and the draft title appears in the Pages panel in the sidebar. [View MAC Image | View PC Image]
There might be restrictions on which parts of a web page draft you can edit. Your template designer can create a template with locked regions or your Contribute administrator can set up editing constraints that restrict editing to text only.